The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 18, 2004, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA

No one has violated any rules at this point.


There is no rule forbidding two runners to touch a base simultaneously.

There is no rule stating a pitcher MUST make a play on a runner.

There is a rule which states that once a runner has stopped on a base and the pitcher has the ball in the circle, if she leaves that base, she is out.

There is no rule forcing any runner to violate any rules.

The LBR is not negated as if ANY runner leaves their base, they are ruled out unless the pitcher makes a play. But the pitcher knows that if she makes a play toward 2B, the runner on 3B may advance, so she isn't going to make a play.

Everything is within the rules and you cannot force a player to violate the rules. IOW, it is a stand-off, stalemate, whatever you want to call it.

OK, what about Rule 8.3.E? The one that says 2 runners cannot occupy the same base simultaneously? One of them's gotta go. All possibilities for an out have not been exhausted, since one of them has to leave the base. R1 has no right to the base, so she has to leave it. To me, this is similar to calling time, in the middle of a rundown, because you're tired of waiting for the tag.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1