The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 18, 2004, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I believe that was his point, and further that my initial reply in this thread was wrong - if no play is pending, and both runners are standing on the base, PU should call time and send runner back to 1B. But if she goes back on her own, she's out. Seems odd - but within the rules as written I can see this interpretation.

Only problems I'm having with it is the assumption that R1 and R2 are now claiming as "their" base second base, and the fact that calling time when it seems to me the play is not over feels wrong.

I can't justify the following in the rulebook, so I'm assuming I'm wrong ... but it seems to me that with the play still in action, we can't call time, and we can't call LBR - so R1 returning to first is still legal (only 1 stop) since she cannot have legally acquired second base. But like I said - I can't justify my logic with the rulebook, so I suppose if this ever actually happens (probably tonight!), I'll call time and send her back.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1