The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2004, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Speaking ASA.

All the "intent" and age level aside, the runner STOPPED on a base while the pitcher was in control of the ball inside the circle. That, I believe is an out (8.7.T.2).
Being the devil's advocate here, 8.7.T.2 says the runner is out if she leaves the base for any reason. Now, SOMEBODY has got to leave the base. The rules state 2 runners cannot occupy the same base. We have a paradox. If she stays on, she's out. If she leaves, she's out. As an umpire, I love this, I'm getting my out one way or the other. But common sense, says maybe a little more verbiage in the LBR rule on 8.7.T.2 could clarify this.
__________________
Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1