The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Rule 8-Sec 5B.3 "... If the obstructed runner is put out
after passing the base which would have been reached had there not been obstruction OR ran beyond the two bases the obstruction occurred, the obstructed runner will be called out. The ball remains live."


If this were a court case, you might have a point. The runner was put out after passing the base she would have reached (2B) AND ran beyond the two bases where the OBS occurred (1B and 2B). Unfortunately, ASA seldom writes with legal precision. In the case play in which the runner was obstructed going back to 3B, he did pass (advance beyond) the base that would have been reached (3B) and is still not out. So in the original play I suspect that ASA would consider the runner to have nullified these "after" scenarios when she returned past 2B toward 1B.

Their use of "after" is ambiguous. Is it "after" purely in time, or "after" meaning physically past a spot?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1