The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 02:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Del-Blue
I had a game on Saturday where there was a girl on second. I was BU. Ball hit to the SS, runner on second going to third, and stopped just before the SS as she fielded the ball. SS bobbled the ball, and pushed it towards the runner. Runner made kind of a circle back to second and around the SS to avoid her and head to third. I saw no contact with the fielder or runner.In my judgment, the runner did everything she could to avoid the fielder, as the fielder bobbled the ball into the runner. Coach wanted interference. I made no call. Anyone out there whould have called that interference and why???

By the way, this was a NCAA game

Del-Blue,
After the fielder initially touched the ball, the ball is merely loose. The circling by the baserunner was not required.
If the base runner does nothing intentionally to interfere with the fielder, or the ball, then there is no penalty for that runner on that fielder.

Note to 12-7-g : 1.) If a ball richochets off one defensive player and another player has the opportunity to make a play, the runner will be ruled out if she interferes with the second fielder.

mick

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1