The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
Do you guys that do a lot of fastpitch allow a simple quick smack of both hands together during the pitching motion, or should we insist on the full one second minimum. I do not believe the ball has to go in the glove, just both hands must come together.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 75
A quick touch of the hands is sufficient for me, as long as it is a definite touch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Agree with blue,

Just be sure there is an actual touch.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 157
Same here. As long as there is a touch, I allow it. Can be a quick touch of the back of the glove with the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Duke
Same here. As long as there is a touch, I allow it. Can be a quick touch of the back of the glove with the ball.
Quick touch yes, back of glove, no.

In recent clinic, Steve Rollins noted that the hands supposedly being together indicates the bare hand should be inside of the glove. It was stated the the back of the glove shouldn't be accepted. Maybe I misunderstood, but it makes sense to me. The definition of starting the pitch notes that it begins when one hand is taken "off" the ball.
A hand (glove) cannot be taken off if it was never in a position to be on the ball. Of course, I am talking about something so obvious it is impossible to miss. If, as the umpire, you have to think about it, don't call it.


Personally, I'm surprised they (powers that be) haven't tried to slow down the pitcher's motion by using the rule which requires the one second pause.





[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Mar 29th, 2004 at 10:08 AM]
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 414
Every year I run into this one pitcher who starts with both arms straight down at her sides. Then she swings both arms forward then straight up above her head, barely bangs them together (over top her head) as she continues with her windmill. I have never liked it, and this is Rec level. If they are letting her get away with it in school (Federated) then I have nothing to say about it.
I sort of look at this as a baseball pitcher from the stretch never actually stopping for one second. There.. if you drop both hands downward then upward, somewhere you had to have stopped (but not for one second). So we seem to overlook this one second requirement as well ???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quick touch yes, back of glove, no.

In recent clinic, Steve Rollins noted that the hands supposedly being together indicates the bare hand should be inside of the glove.

Mike,

Thanks for that bit of information. We have several pitchers
in the area that only hit the back of glove. This will be very
interesting when called.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
[QUOTE]Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Quick touch yes, back of glove, no.

In recent clinic, Steve Rollins noted that the hands supposedly being together indicates the bare hand should be inside of the glove. It was stated the the back of the glove shouldn't be accepted. Maybe I misunderstood, but it makes sense to me. The definition of starting the pitch notes that it begins when one hand is taken "off" the ball.
A hand (glove) cannot be taken off if it was never in a position to be on the ball. Of course, I am talking about something so obvious it is impossible to miss. If, as the umpire, you have to think about it, don't call it.
Hmm, will Oklahoma City rule in this matter?
It could really change the game here in my state.

__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
scott_k 61

Would your last name be King?
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 573
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
scott_k 61

Would your last name be King?
That depends, is that a good thing or not?

email me at [email protected]
__________________
ISF
ASA/USA Elite
NIF
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2004, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
[QUOTE]Originally posted by scottk_61
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:

Quick touch yes, back of glove, no.

In recent clinic, Steve Rollins noted that the hands supposedly being together indicates the bare hand should be inside of the glove. It was stated the the back of the glove shouldn't be accepted. Maybe I misunderstood, but it makes sense to me. The definition of starting the pitch notes that it begins when one hand is taken "off" the ball.
A hand (glove) cannot be taken off if it was never in a position to be on the ball. Of course, I am talking about something so obvious it is impossible to miss. If, as the umpire, you have to think about it, don't call it.
Hmm, will Oklahoma City rule in this matter?
It could really change the game here in my state.
Who knows? Just passing along what a Reg UIC stated in a recent clinic.

I don't understand why anyone would care if they are not going to enforce the one second.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Pitching Mechanics?

Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
Quick touch yes, back of glove, no.

In recent clinic, Steve Rollins noted that the hands supposedly being together indicates the bare hand should be inside of the glove.

Mike,

Thanks for that bit of information. We have several pitchers
in the area that only hit the back of glove. This will be very
interesting when called.
In ASA The hands have to come to gether for a brief moment (you determine the moment) and the ball is supposed to go into the glove, again, what you consider into is your judgement.

In Federation, you just have to bring the hands together, therefore hitting the back of the glove is fine. Personally, I think they should all go with ASA..but that's my opinion.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2004, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
For NFHS:
Does everyone agree that bringing the bare hand with the ball behind the glove hand near the hip is joining; as long as both are close and aligned in the line of sight of the batter?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2004, 01:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156

NFHS - 6-1-1C - The pitcher shall bring the hands together in
front of the body for not less than one second and not more
than 10 seconds before releasing the ball. Hands may be
motionless or moving.
__________________________________________________ __
So if an NFHS pitcher touches ball to glove in front of the
body as hands
are moving upward, then this would take about one second or more. I
would say legal.
__________________________________________________ __

ASA - 6-1E The pitcher shall hold the ball in both hands for not
less than one second and not more than 10 seconds before
releasing the ball.
__________________________________________________ __
Meanwhile, ASA says the pitcher shall hold the ball
in both hands. They don't say hands may be motionless or
moving, so one would assume as long as the hands are together, its ok.
ASA also does not say in front of the body. What would prevent
the pitcher from having glove hand, and bare hand with ball
behind her back, then bring hands forward and together for the
one - ten second requirement? Nothing by rule.
__________________________________________________ ___
Throw in one more. AFA - Sec 9.2 -a. 3) Hands must be separated.
4) Ball must be held in one hand, either bare, or
gloved. 5) Ball may be held in front of, at the side of or
behind the body.
c. The pitcher's hands must come together for no more than 10
seconds before releasing the ball. (no mention of at least one second.)
The hands do not have to come to a complete stop, therefore,
may be moving during the touch.

All slightly different. From what I have seen in each of the
three associations, they allow the touching of the glove as
meeting the requirment for bringing the hands together, either
motionless or moving.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 31, 2004, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
The bearded one has given us another great example of totally useless rule differences from each writing independently, which is both turfish (new word, meaning seeing only one's own turf) and arrogant.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1