The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Speaking ASA, the rule (8-7P - 2003) requires intent to interfere by the retired runner. It doesn't specify what the reasoning was (if any) behind that intent. I say go by the book. Run scores, but inning over.

You can't use 8-7J-4a (intentionally trying to prevent a double play) since that rule specifically requires that the interference be before the runner is put out. This rule would, however, allow you to declare the BR out, nullifying the run.

Even 10-1L doesn't apply, since that rule only gives you the option of not applying the penalty at all - it doesn't give you the option of making up your own penalty.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1