The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2004, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Illegal Pitch! For the pitcher to throw that much of a screwball she must have been outside the 24" plate width.

Actually, this is a pretty tough question. By your own statement, the ball did not hit the batter while the ball was in the strike zone, nor did the batter swing at it; so the logical assumption, using ASA 74 g & i, would be hit batter.

However, rule 8.1.F is worded such that if the ball is not called a strike, the batter becomes a batter-runner. Therefore, if it is a strike, then the batter goes nowhere.

In that I don't know, I do know what I would do. Being a good umpire, I hesitate making calls, by which time the batter has been hit, at which time I immediately call dead ball and send batter to 1B. If anyone asks, the pitch was a ball.

WMB

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1