The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2004, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
Rule 8 Sec 6 Art 4. Physically passing a preceding runner before that runner has been put out.
Penalty - ball is in play and the runner is out. One out.


But this applies to a live ball situation. The scenario posed is in a dead ball situation. I don't believe this rule applies here.

Rick
Rick,
That is why the offense has not occured until the ball is made live. Just as if an illegal substitute is entered as a runner, there is no penalty unless the ball is made live.(see 3-3-3-e) It is at that point the offense has occured.

When the ball is placed in play, the runner has advanced beyond the preceeding runner on the basepath.

Mike and I both made that point, I thought.

Roger Greene


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1