View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 09, 2004, 03:26pm
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
Rule 8 Sec 6 Art 4. Physically passing a preceding runner before that runner has been put out.
Penalty - ball is in play and the runner is out. One out.


But this applies to a live ball situation. The scenario posed is in a dead ball situation. I don't believe this rule applies here.

Rick
Rick,
That is why the offense has not occured until the ball is made live. Just as if an illegal substitute is entered as a runner, there is no penalty unless the ball is made live.(see 3-3-3-e) It is at that point the offense has occured.

When the ball is placed in play, the runner has advanced beyond the preceeding runner on the basepath.

Mike and I both made that point, I thought.

Roger Greene


Reply With Quote