The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2022, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Menifee,CA
Posts: 855
AZ/Miss St obstruction call

Can someone break down the obstruction call in that AZ/Miss St game and how it ended up being obstruction?
__________________
Derryl Trujillo
Official Scorekeeper-Woodcrest Christian High School Basketball
Referee-Inland Volleyball Officials Association
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2022, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper View Post
Can someone break down the obstruction call in that AZ/Miss St game and how it ended up being obstruction?
Here's what I saw in the ESPN video (@ 2 hr. 17 min. mark):

Arizona batting, top 7th inning, Mississippi St. leading 2-1.

After leadoff batter walked, BR2, batting the right-handed batter's box, bunted the first pitch fair between HP and F1. BR2 started to run out of the batter's box toward 1B at the same time F2 tries to run forward to field the ball. F2 puts her bare hand in the middle of BR2's back and pushes her out of F2's way, causing BR2 to briefly stumble, before returning to sprint toward 1B. F2 fields ball and throws to F4 and BR2 is called out.

After the play, Offensive Coaches talk to PU, who then meets with the other 3 Umpires in the crew. Then PU gets on the headset to talk to the Replay Officials. When that is done, PU points at F2 and then gives the OBS signal by extending his left arm straight out to his side with his had in a fist, and indicates that BR2 is safe at first.

The ESPN game announcers use the term "interference". It appears that OBS was ruled on F2 for pushing BR2 in the back, causing her to stumble.

Arizona scored 1 run in the 7th to tie the game, and 1 in the 8th to win the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 27, 2022, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 56
Is this as simple as it reads:
" F2 puts her bare hand in the middle of BR2's back and pushes her out of F2's way"

Or, was it BR2 interfering with F2 fielding a batted ball.

Was F2 the defensive player with a chance to make an out on "bunted the first pitch fair between HP and F1". How far away?

I ask without knowing any NCAA rule vs. USA. I hope to find time for the video.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2022, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 56
I haven't found the video. Do you have a link?
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2022, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
https://www.facebook.com/justan.spur...40759830770626
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 28, 2022, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 278
The announcers are woefully f.o.s., as usual.

Last edited by Crabby_Bob; Sat May 28, 2022 at 11:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2022, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,212
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyspZua2tYY

About the 7:30 mark. The pitcher fielded the ball and threw to first, thus meaning the catcher was not in position to make the play and as such, her pushing the BR was obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2022, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 56
I can't say the catcher was not able to make the play, based just on distance & angle; regardless of the BR.
The ball was almost even distances between the P & C.
But the ball coming toward the pitcher seems to make that the pitcher's play and it seems the pitcher would have reached the ball first, regardless of the BR.
The throw by the pitcher beat the BR easily, confirming the pitcher had a play.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2022, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
The announcers are woefully f.o.s., as usual.
I'm going to OKC and put up a big sign that flashes red "OBSTRUCTION" each time there is one.

Then, a second sign with FOUL BALL each time it is not a foul tip.

After the non-world College Championship, I'll move the foul ball sign to the Phillies home stadium in Phila.

__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach asks me to miss call ... 3afan Softball 14 Wed Oct 03, 2007 05:51pm
LL obstruction call LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 10 Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:48pm
obstruction call Tap Softball 8 Mon May 05, 2003 09:24am
Obstruction Call oppool Softball 12 Wed Feb 06, 2002 07:37pm
Obstruction, who's call? Robert G Baseball 6 Tue May 01, 2001 12:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1