The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2022, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
What was it exactly that the on-deck batter did to warrant an INT call?
Interfere with a thrown ball. On-deck batter doesn't have the same rights as a runner. OP states that there was no play so put runners back to the last base touched.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 02, 2022, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
Interfere with a thrown ball. On-deck batter doesn't have the same rights as a runner. OP states that there was no play so put runners back to the last base touched.
Well, you didn't answer my question.

Suppose R1 attempted to go to 3B and F8's throw skipped by F5 and hit the coach in the coach's box. Has the coach committed INT?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2022, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Suppose R1 attempted to go to 3B and F8's throw skipped by F5 and hit the coach in the coach's box. Has the coach committed INT?
Are you equating a base coach to an on-deck batter?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2022, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,381
That's 2 questions you haven't answered.

To answer yours: 8-6-16
Any coach or member of the offensive team, other than a runner...

So a coach, on deck batter, bat/ball shagger would all be considered "members of the offensive team".

An on deck batter is permitted to be out of the on deck circle to direct a runner attempting to score. In a sense, acting as another coach.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2022, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 286
Here's the entire 8-6-16b:
Any coach or member of the offensive team, other than a runner, interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play. This includes, but is not limited to: b) A coach intentionally interferes with a thrown ball while in the coach's box, or interferes with a defensive team's opportunity to make a play on another runner.
My emphasis. The thrust of 8-6-16 does not require intent nor is it limited to subsections A-D.

You are correct that the on-deck batter may leave to direct runners advancing from third base to home. This brings the on-deck batter close to the play much like a base coach, except there is no coach's box.

Regarding the On-Deck Batter:
7-5-4 The on-deck batter shall not commit interference with the defensive team. Penalty 1. When the interference is with a thrown or pitched ball, the ball is dead and the runner closest to home is out. If no play is obvious, no player is out, but runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of interference. Penalty 2. When the interference is with a fair batted or foul fly ball, the batter is out. [...]
Intent is not required.

The OP stated: "With a runner at first base, the batter hits safely to center field. F8 overthrows F4. The overthrown ball rolls into foul territory near the on-deck circle and hits the on-deck batter. There is no obvious play on either runner."

The on-deck batter is normally in the on-deck circle doing warm-up stuff. The on-deck circle usually has near perfect vision of the field and the action. An on-deck batter paying any attention whatsoever would never get hit by a ball thrown from center field. It's simply incumbent upon the on-deck batter to stay out of playing action.
Yet, it happened to the OP's on-deck batter, a member of the offensive team. Suppose the ball deflects away in live ball territory and runners keep advancing. How many bases should they be allowed to take? All of them? None?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 03, 2022, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,381
An on-deck batter paying any attention whatsoever would never get hit by a ball thrown from center field. It's simply incumbent upon the on-deck batter to stay out of playing action.

So the argument is that an inattentive on deck batter who is doing nothing but standing in the on deck circle and ends up being hit by a deflected or off-line thrown ball has COMMITTED an act that warrants an INT call.

Sorry, not buying that. But with proper rule citation, I could be convinced otherwise.

If the on deck batter actually DOES something like bends over and picks the ball up or kicks it, then we have something to rule on. By your logic, the coach should never be hit by a thrown ball because s/he should be paying close attention and also has a clear view of the entire field.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 04, 2022, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
[COLOR="Red"][snip] By your logic, the coach should never be hit by a thrown ball because s/he should be paying close attention and also has a clear view of the entire field.
I don't think so. The statement above completely disregards the proximity of the base coach to the action, all of it: the base, fielders, runners, and a throw. It is his JOB to direct the runners. The base coach is also specifically absolved of interference with a thrown ball unless intentional.

The rule (7-5-4) and penalty has been cited several times. I believe it correctly anticipates and applies to the situation OP presented.

The case play literature is silent on this in several codes. All that remains is to agree to disagree. Peace.

[ETA] This discussion brings up something I haven't seen addressed anywhere. What protections, if any, from interfering with a throw does an on-deck batter have when legally directing runners advancing from third to home?

Last edited by Crabby_Bob; Fri Mar 04, 2022 at 02:10pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Runner Hit By Thrown Ball ozzy6900 Baseball 17 Wed Apr 17, 2013 08:12pm
Lead-off Batter = On-Deck Batter? Manny A Softball 14 Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27am
On-deck batter and blocked Ball or live Ball? rwest Softball 13 Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:49pm
On-Deck Batter interferes with ball four John Robertson Softball 25 Mon Jul 21, 2008 01:34pm
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1