The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Batter Runner Hit By Thrown Ball

R3 & R2, 0 outs

Witnessed this play while doing an evaluation on a JV umpire.

Batter hits a hot grounder to F3. F3 fields the ball but does not step on 1st. Instead, F3 sees R3 half way down the line and fires to F2. The ball hits the BR, in the running lane and the ball ricochets off the BR, over the head of F2 and to the backstop. R3 scores, F2 fires to F5 who misplays the ball and R2 scores. The BR stays on 1st.

  1. Do we have 2 runs and a man on 1st?
  2. Do we have any interference?
  3. If the BR was out of the running lane, would we have interference? (better check your sources before you answer)
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
1) yes
2) yes
3) no, only happens if F2 is throwing to 1b.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino View Post
1) yes
2) yes
3) no, only happens if F2 is throwing to 1b.
2) is No. There is no interference.

3) can be if anyone is throwing to 1B.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Talking

I erred, 2) no
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
R3 & R2, 0 outs

Witnessed this play while doing an evaluation on a JV umpire.

Batter hits a hot grounder to F3. F3 fields the ball but does not step on 1st. Instead, F3 sees R3 half way down the line and fires to F2. The ball hits the BR, in the running lane and the ball ricochets off the BR, over the head of F2 and to the backstop. R3 scores, F2 fires to F5 who misplays the ball and R2 scores. The BR stays on 1st.

  1. Do we have 2 runs and a man on 1st?
  2. Do we have any interference?
  3. If the BR was out of the running lane, would we have interference? (better check your sources before you answer)
1) Yes

2) No. There is no interference.

3) No. Running lane int is only with the fielder taking the throw at 1B.

What did the JV ump decide?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NW PA
Posts: 146
Thanks for changing that response RP. I was scratching my head trying to figure out how we had interference on that.
__________________
Hey Blue! Explain obstruction again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,266
I only have interference if the BR intentionally interferes. If not, I've got nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 02:45pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Yes, no, no.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 16, 2013, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Thank you all for playing and the correct answer is no interference on the throw to the plate no matter if the BR is in or out of the lane. The lane only comes into play on the throw to 1st to retire the BR.

In the game, the PU was asked by the DHC for an interference call and the PU explained that the BR was clearly in the lane and there was no interference. The DHC did not argue and went back to his dugout. I chuckled at the whole thing and when the game was over, I starting to go over the evaluation with the 1st year rookie. Just then the DHC came by us and stopped to say hi. I told him that I was going over an evaluation and he asked if I could explain the rule correctly to the rookie. He and I both started laughing (we've known each other for over 30 years) and I told him to go ahead and explain it. He did and the rookie learned several things:

  • Know your rules as you will be tested!
  • Be respectful and you will get respect!
  • Sometimes when a coach walks away from an argument, he may know more than you do!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy

Last edited by ozzy6900; Wed Apr 17, 2013 at 10:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 07:48am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
So the PU got the call right but for the wrong reason?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Somehow, I'm missing the moral of this story.

DHC asks for an interference call...but DHC knows the rule and knows it wasn't interference?

I guess the moral is that coaches are rats.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
Why was the DHC in the 3B coaching box?

Maybe the OHC asked and the DHC was the one who explained it later?

Maybe Ozzy will update us.

Besides - it-s a coach's job to try to get an advantage for his team. He gets paid to do that. Just treat it like you were in court, you're the judge, and the two attorneys are trying to get you to make a ruling favorable to their side.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Why was the DHC in the 3B coaching box?

Maybe the OHC asked and the DHC was the one who explained it later.
And why would the OHC be asking for an interference call on his own player?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Besides - it-s a coach's job to try to get an advantage for his team. He gets paid to do that. Just treat it like you were in court, you're the judge, and the two attorneys are trying to get you to make a ruling favorable to their side.
I'm not sure that you're going to enhance the image of coaches by comparing them to lawyers!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Why was the DHC in the 3B coaching box?

Maybe the OHC asked and the DHC was the one who explained it later?

Maybe Ozzy will update us.

Besides - it-s a coach's job to try to get an advantage for his team. He gets paid to do that. Just treat it like you were in court, you're the judge, and the two attorneys are trying to get you to make a ruling favorable to their side.
Rich, I gotta learn not to post and talk to the wife at the same time. I corrected the post as the DHC went back to the dugout, not the box. Thanks for the catch on this.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 17, 2013, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
And why would the OHC be asking for an interference call on his own player?


And I was confused because Ozzy misspoke and said the DHC went back to the 3B Coaching box.

It might be worth trading an out on the B-R for the out on someone else. Suppose they threw out R3 going home. I'd rather have him back on 3B and the B-R out versus no one on 3B and a runner on 1B.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thrown ball kicked by runner QuinnVT Baseball 4 Mon Jun 06, 2011 03:36pm
Runner hit by thrown ball kfrisbee Softball 12 Mon Apr 28, 2008 05:55pm
runner struck by thrown ball hbenson Baseball 151 Wed Jun 07, 2006 01:37pm
Runner coliding with Catcher While Fielding a Thrown Ball UmpJordan Baseball 14 Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:06pm
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1