The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Not sure when the video came out, but I have to say that at the 40-second mark you can see F3 is clearly in the BR's path without the ball as the BR is about 5 feet from the bag (the ball is just even with the BR's left shoulder. So obstruction should've been ruled.

The collision happened after F3 had the ball in her mitt. So I don't see where there would be any runner's lane violation here. The rule requires the BR to hinder the fielder's attempt to receive the thrown ball. F3 did receive it; she just didn't hold onto it afterward.


I can answer the question as to when. This game was played on March 23rd, 2018, and resulted in a 2-1 Washington win in 8 innings. This play happened in the top of the 8th, when Arizona got two on before a strikeout ended the inning. Washington's leadoff in the 8th homered to end the game.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
If the runner is in the running lane, she wont be called for INT (unless she intentionally interferes), regardless of the quality of the throw or positioning of the fielder.

If she's out of the lane, she is liable to be called for INT if the ball COULD have been caught if not for her presence outside the RL, regardless of the throw.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 23, 2020, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
I decided to watch the play again. The issue in play one is as much on the fielder as it is the runner. If you watch the fielder carefully, until the moment the ball arrives at her glove she is completely across first base. She is not bringing the other foot forward back towards the fair side of the base until the throw and runner are arriving at first base.

This is an intentional act in my opinion in an effort to get the batter-runner to slow done because first base is blocked. There is nowhere for the batter-runner to go running full speed except into the F3.

Also, F3 catches the ball with her glove about even with the foul line. Had her glove been out in front of her reaching for the throw two things happen. One, the glove is not contacted by the runner running at full speed to the base, and two, the catch is made prior to the runner getting to the base.

Her poor positioning on the play was as much the reason that this play happened as anything else.
She did have her glove in the position you recommend when she made a target for the throw. However, the throw was off, and she had to move her glove into the position you fault in order to catch the ball. So the collision was the fault of the fielding team, but not the fault of F3 personally.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running lane violation jmkupka Softball 3 Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:47am
Running Lane violation dileonardoja Baseball 17 Thu Jul 12, 2012 04:21pm
3' running lane violation on BB? PSUchem Softball 51 Tue Nov 24, 2009 01:20pm
Running lane violation? David Emerling Baseball 25 Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:38am
running lane violation Rachel Softball 4 Thu Jul 10, 2003 09:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1