The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 19, 2003, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
I presume that since you and the PU spoke that the statement about the ball being thrown after BR had touched first was the umpire's opinion and not just yours. If that is the case, BR should have been at third. R1, at 2B at the start of the play, would have been award home whether or not they had already obtained third at the time of the throw.

(I believe that "baseball" rules state that if the play is the first from the infield, the award is from the location at the time of the pitch and not the time of the throw.)

Speculating on the awards those umpires dished out, I can only guess they used the "sand-lot rule" of one base on an overthrow. I wonder if they call the hands part of the bat and give ties to the runners. (In that case the whole situation might have been avoided if the visitors had just yelled, "Do-overs!")
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1