The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2019, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Base award

ASA Menís Slow Pitch

Runner on first, no outs. Line drive to SS caught. Double pumps and then throws to 1st to try to double off the runner and it goes through/under the fence. What is the award to the runner? Just wondering if Iím missing something since I havenít called softball in a while.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2019, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner View Post
ASA Menís Slow Pitch

Runner on first, no outs. Line drive to SS caught. Double pumps and then throws to 1st to try to double off the runner and it goes through/under the fence. What is the award to the runner? Just wondering if Iím missing something since I havenít called softball in a while.
Two bases from the runner's position at the time of the throw regardless of that runner's direction.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 08, 2019, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Thank you. Thatís what I thought and feel better knowing I havenít lost my mind. Was told itís one base on an overthrow earlier tonight. Same umpire then awarded 2 bases from where a runner was when a ball went into the dugout and not based on when the throw was made.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 07:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner View Post
Thank you. Thatís what I thought and feel better knowing I havenít lost my mind. Was told itís one base on an overthrow earlier tonight. Same umpire then awarded 2 bases from where a runner was when a ball went into the dugout and not based on when the throw was made.
BTW, that is not a new rule, it has be around for years
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I know itís been that way for years. I was just making sure it hadnít changed since the last time I worked ASA. I think what bugged me is the umpire stated ďonly one base on an overthrowĒ when I asked why the runner wasnít being awarded third. I thought to myself there is no award for an overthrow, but a ball thrown out of play is always a 2 base award. My frustration cranked up on the later play when he did award 2 bases to a runner on the other team.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 02:08pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner View Post
I know itís been that way for years. I was just making sure it hadnít changed since the last time I worked ASA. I think what bugged me is the umpire stated ďonly one base on an overthrowĒ when I asked why the runner wasnít being awarded third. I thought to myself there is no award for an overthrow, but a ball thrown out of play is always a 2 base award.
"One base on an overthrow" is a sandlot rule. I've never seen that phrase written in any real baseball or softball rule book. Maybe it existed when they played games without helmets and only in the daytime.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Maybe it existed when they played games without helmets and only in the daytime.
Only you and Irish remember.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2019, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 758
As an aside, R1 still needs to tag up at 1B during the dead ball before advancing on the base award, or he is at liability to be called out on appeal.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Today, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 761
Is this considered the second play by an infielder? In baseball it would be the first play.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Today, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Is this considered the second play by an infielder? In baseball it would be the first play.
That's not a rule in softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
base award bbman Baseball 4 Tue Sep 03, 2019 09:00am
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
3 Base Award? BigUmp56 Baseball 46 Wed Feb 22, 2006 02:27pm
Base Award Rick Vietti Baseball 5 Wed Aug 06, 2003 01:33pm
Base award TERRY1 Softball 5 Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1