The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 27, 2019, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 101
base award

R1 on first, F3 playing in for bunt. B2 bunts ball past pitcher & F3, ball bounces toward where F4 was playing (but F4 moved to cover first on bunt attempt). F4 recovers/retrieves bunt and tries to throw out R1 going to third, but throws the ball oob's. B/R had already crossed first and was on his way to second when F4 threw the ball oob's.
Where to place B/R?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 28, 2019, 08:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
R1 on first, F3 playing in for bunt. B2 bunts ball past pitcher & F3, ball bounces toward where F4 was playing (but F4 moved to cover first on bunt attempt). F4 recovers/retrieves bunt and tries to throw out R1 going to third, but throws the ball oob's. B/R had already crossed first and was on his way to second when F4 threw the ball oob's.
Where to place B/R?
IF that's true and if R1 had reached second at the TOT, then it's two bases TOT -- so put BR at third and score R1. IF either runner had NOT reached the next base a TOT, then it's two bases TOP -- so put BR at second and R1 at third.

Note that it's TOT that matters, not the time the ball goes out of play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 31, 2019, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
R1 on first, F3 playing in for bunt. B2 bunts ball past pitcher & F3, ball bounces toward where F4 was playing (but F4 moved to cover first on bunt attempt). F4 recovers/retrieves bunt and tries to throw out R1 going to third, but throws the ball oob's. B/R had already crossed first and was on his way to second when F4 threw the ball oob's.
Where to place B/R?
Because the throw is the first play on a batted ball by an infielder then the key here is whether F1 or F3 had a play on the ball. If the umpire believes either F1 or F3 had a play on ball then it is two bases from time of throw, if they didn't then it is two bases from time of pitch.

On this play, if F1 or F3 had a play and if BR reached first before F4 threw the ball to third then Bob is correct award R1 home and BR third base. However, if neither F1 or F3 had a play on the ball, then it doesn't matter where the runners were when the throw was made, R1 goes to third and BR goes to second.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 31, 2019, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear View Post
Because the throw is the first play on a batted ball by an infielder then the key here is whether F1 or F3 had a play on the ball. If the umpire believes either F1 or F3 had a play on ball then it is two bases from time of throw, if they didn't then it is two bases from time of pitch.

On this play, if F1 or F3 had a play and if BR reached first before F4 threw the ball to third then Bob is correct award R1 home and BR third base. However, if neither F1 or F3 had a play on the ball, then it doesn't matter where the runners were when the throw was made, R1 goes to third and BR goes to second.
You need to rethink this.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 03, 2019, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear View Post
Because the throw is the first play on a batted ball by an infielder then the key here is whether F1 or F3 had a play on the ball. If the umpire believes either F1 or F3 had a play on ball then it is two bases from time of throw, if they didn't then it is two bases from time of pitch.

On this play, if F1 or F3 had a play and if BR reached first before F4 threw the ball to third then Bob is correct award R1 home and BR third base. However, if neither F1 or F3 had a play on the ball, then it doesn't matter where the runners were when the throw was made, R1 goes to third and BR goes to second.
A "play" on the batted ball means nothing when awarding bases on a wild throw.

From the MLBUM: "A play or attempted play is interpreted as a legitimate effort by a defensive player who has possession of the ball to actually retire a runner."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 Base Award / Abandoning Base NCASAUmp Softball 20 Tue Jul 06, 2010 07:28am
3 Base Award? BigUmp56 Baseball 46 Wed Feb 22, 2006 02:27pm
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
Base Award Rick Vietti Baseball 5 Wed Aug 06, 2003 01:33pm
1 or 2 Base Award? insatty Baseball 26 Sat Mar 15, 2003 04:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1