![]() |
|
|
|||
I'll accept this logic. The case plays and scenarios you gave sent me through both the ASA and Fed books. I'll grant that both codes authorize the on-deck batter to be on-field, although she doesn't have offensive status as either a runner or batter. I was working under the assumption that only batters, runners, and coaches were, to coin a term, "actively" in the game during a live ball. I can't find a rule to confirm that so specifically, so I won't assume it's true any longer.
If we grant that the on-deck batter is "in the game" by virtue of explicitly being permitted on-field (also exists in USA 7-1), then the blocked ball example is out. An on-deck batter who makes no act of INT, and touches a thrown ball, should be nothing; play on. However, I suspect that the "INT but no chance for an out" exception is both codes is what may be read as "any time the ball hits the ODB, it's a dead ball". I'd love to see an official interp from TPTB in either USA or Fed.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
Quote:
Tell me how this makes sense: Scenario 1: Nobody on base. Batter hits a frozen rope to F9 who fields it on the hop. F9 throws to first base to play on the BR, and her throw is wide left. The throw hits the base coach and caroms into the dugout. Ruling: Ball remains live until it enters the dugout, and the BR is awarded second base (two bases from F9's throw) Scenario 2: Nobody on base. Batter hits a frozen rope to F9 who fields it on the hop. F9 throws to first base to play on the BR, and her throw goes over F3's head. The throw hits the on-deck batter who is still in the circle and caroms into the dugout. Ruling: The ball is immediately dead when it hits the on-deck batter, and the BR remains at first. I don't buy it.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Nfhs has a case play regarding an errant throw that hits a photographer outside a media area and the ball remains live. So, a photographer is most certainly a person not engaged in the game, and if an errant throw hitting them is not a dead ball then why on Earth would an errant throw hitting on on deck batter be dead?
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
And the ODB is in a designated area.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
The ODB is not always restricted to the on deck circle, they are allowed to leave it in certain situations. The media was never suppose to be outside the area. And when there was a media area allowed on the field of play, there was a rule that stated the ball was dead if it hit something inside the media area. There is no such rule stating a ball hitting the on deck batter in the on deck circle is dead automatically.
Last edited by RKBUmp; Thu Aug 15, 2019 at 08:46pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Thrown ball INT ?? | CecilOne | Softball | 10 | Mon Oct 03, 2016 02:11pm |
Ball thrown into Dead ball territory | MASS F/B UMP | Softball | 11 | Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am |
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
Thrown ball into dead ball area | 0balls2strikes | Softball | 7 | Wed Aug 10, 2005 08:10pm |