![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sliding is an acceptable avoidance technique, but if you said in your plate conference that runners MUST SLIDE to avoid contact - and they do - and get injured as a result, YOU are at fault.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
that should not be part of a pregame conference, but if asked to explain your call during a gamel, the verbiage in the book is always your best bet to use:
To prevent a deliberate crash ruling, the runner can slide, jump over the top of the defender holding the ball, go around the defender or return to the previous base touched. NCAA (my previous comment was intended to be tongue-in-cheek) Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Jun 24, 2019 at 02:40pm. |
|
|||
|
IMO, for this situation, the runner's lane is irrelevant. What we have here is a train wreck. We have two options: INT or nothing. Without seeing the play, I'm leaning towards INT, as by rule, a runner who remains upright and contacts the fielder making a play is interference.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"...a runner must be called out when they remain on their feet and crash into a defensive player who is holding the ball and waiting to apply a tag." I view RS13 as the typical Pete Rose/Ray Fosse All Star play at the plate. Players used to be able to do that. Now, even MLB has changed that rule. This play was BR arriving a split second after F3 managed to field the ball. I am in the "wreck" camp on this one. One of those plays that no matter how you rule, the "other team" is gonna hate you.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Trying to let the whole thing play itself out, if the fielder wasn't attempting to apply a tag, then she should still have had the opportunity to make a throw to the base (where the tag could be applied).
Either way, I think INT is the appropriate call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the OP case, the BR collided with the fielder strongly enough to cause dropping the ball; which would be a "crash". Other side of coin. If the fielder dropped the ball because of not having secure possession; then the BR impeded fielding a batted ball. Either way, interference.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think your particular coin has 2 sides - both sides of your coin result in INT. Very fair!
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 3 ft running lane | bbman | Softball | 13 | Thu Mar 21, 2019 09:58pm |
| running lane | timeout | Baseball | 17 | Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:31am |
| The Running Lane | tcblue13 | Softball | 21 | Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm |
| Running Lane | jicecone | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:08pm |
| Running Lane | Bandit | Softball | 5 | Fri Feb 01, 2002 06:08pm |