The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 07, 2019, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Or in the NOTE:

When an infield fly is not initially called, the batter-runner is declared out if brought to the umpire's attention before the next pitch.

So the batter is out WHEN?
When she hit the infield fly. Again, just because the umpire didn't recognize it immediately, doesn't mean she wasn't out.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 07, 2019, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
When she hit the infield fly. Again, just because the umpire didn't recognize it immediately, doesn't mean she wasn't out.
There's language ambiguity about when she hit an infield fly. If I say: when she hits a ball that becomes an infield fly; that is unambiguous. If I say: when a ball she hits meets the conditions for an infield fly; that is unambiguous. What the rule says can be read both ways.

Consider for example if I say she hit the dugout with a foul ball. Surely the moment she hit it was when it touched the dugout. Not quite parallel structure but still reasonably read that way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 07, 2019, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Consider for example if I say she hit the dugout with a foul ball. Surely the moment she hit it was when it touched the dugout. Not quite parallel structure but still reasonably read that way.
Nope. This is a perfect example.

Rule 8-5-1:
A runner must return to the last base legally occupied when:
ART. 1 . . . A batted ball is foul.

So, a high popup over the third base dugout. R1 crosses home plate before the ball hits the dugout. Since the batted ball didn't become foul until the moment it touched the dugout, you score that run?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 08, 2019, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Nope. This is a perfect example.

Rule 8-5-1:
A runner must return to the last base legally occupied when:
ART. 1 . . . A batted ball is foul.

So, a high popup over the third base dugout. R1 crosses home plate before the ball hits the dugout. Since the batted ball didn't become foul until the moment it touched the dugout, you score that run?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0x-fkSYDtUY
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 08, 2019, 05:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
IMO, it is an infield fly until it isn't, not the other way around
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You make the Call iowasoftballump Softball 12 Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:12pm
What call would you make? RANCHMAN Basketball 29 Sat May 31, 2008 02:02am
Make the Call ...... Ref Daddy Basketball 3 Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:39pm
You make the call! Trojans73 Baseball 7 Thu Apr 17, 2003 03:53pm
What call would you make? Gre144 Baseball 9 Fri May 18, 2001 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1