![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But she's not out when she hits it, and then it bounces untouched to foul territory.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Let's stick with what's on video: In a high school game, a BR hit an infield fly, which in the future would become a fair ball. By strict reading of NFHS 2-30, the batter is out (retired) at this point and the ball remains live. This player, the BR, then interferes with F3 attempting to make a play on a batted ball. The penalty for retired runner interference is, as we all know, runner closest to home is out. Now, let's go hypothetical: In an IF situation, BR hits a fly ball that is over foul territory when she interferes with F3 making a play. Dead ball, one out (the BR), and all runners return to base last touched at TOI, right? Hypothetical #2: In an IF situation BR hits a fly ball which is not caught before hitting the ground and rolls/spins foul. BR interferes with F3's attempt to field this foul ground ball. Dead ball; foul ball; add a strike only if there are not already 2, right?
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Thu Jun 06, 2019 at 09:05pm. |
|
|||
|
Or in the NOTE:
When an infield fly is not initially called, the batter-runner is declared out if brought to the umpire's attention before the next pitch. So the batter is out WHEN?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
When she hit the infield fly. Again, just because the umpire didn't recognize it immediately, doesn't mean she wasn't out.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Consider for example if I say she hit the dugout with a foul ball. Surely the moment she hit it was when it touched the dugout. Not quite parallel structure but still reasonably read that way. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 8-5-1: A runner must return to the last base legally occupied when: ART. 1 . . . A batted ball is foul. So, a high popup over the third base dugout. R1 crosses home plate before the ball hits the dugout. Since the batted ball didn't become foul until the moment it touched the dugout, you score that run? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
IMO, it is an infield fly until it isn't, not the other way around
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| You make the Call | iowasoftballump | Softball | 12 | Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:12pm |
| What call would you make? | RANCHMAN | Basketball | 29 | Sat May 31, 2008 02:02am |
| Make the Call ...... | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:39pm |
| You make the call! | Trojans73 | Baseball | 7 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 03:53pm |
| What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Fri May 18, 2001 02:21pm |