The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 26, 2019, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Mark, Jr., and I saw this video last week on Facebook.

1) The 1st pitch to B4 is a swinging Strike and the PU signaled a strike, 0-1 is now the count. This is where the entire discussion lies. I have watched the video numerous times and never see him signal a strike on this pitch.

2) R1 steals 2B on the 1st pitch to B4. Which was the distraction that caused the PU to never signal the strike on the swing and miss.

3) The 2nd pitch to B4 is a called Strike as the PU signaled a strike, the count is now 0-2. The second pitch was a called strike, but since the PU never called the swing and miss a strike, the delivery of this pitch makes the appeal of the missed call on the swing and miss impossible, thus the legal count is 1-1.

4) B4, before stepping back into the Batter's Box, can be seen asking the PU for the count, which he gives as 1-1. She likely knew he never signaled the first swing and miss as a strike, so she is making sure what her count is.

5) Houston HC now questions the PU about the count. PU and BU3 confer and the count is corrected to 0-2; 0-2 IS the correct count. Based on what happened 0-2 should be the correct count, based on the fact he never signals a swing and miss strike on the first pitch, the legal count is 1-1.

6) Texas HC now questions the PU about the count. PU and BU3 confer and the count stays at 0-2, which IS the correct count. The Texas coach likely also knows the first pitch was never called a strike, thus 0-2 is not the legal count.

7) Texas HC is not happy and requests the PU asks the entire Crew for help. He knows the legal count and the count it should be are not correct, so he wants the crew to get the call correct.

8) Watching the video, it appears that BU2 is doing all of the talking during the conference, and it appears that from reading her lips that she is telling the PU that his 1-1 count is correct. If read her lips, she is saying that the first pitch was not called a strike, so the count has to be 1-1.
How she would know it wasn't called is a question, except we may not see the entire discussion on the video where it was asked if the PU ever signal strike.


9) It appeared to Mark, Jr., and I, from BU2's conduct during the conference that she just might have been the Crew Chief. We are perplexed as to what would make the BU2 come to the conclusion that the 2nd pitch was a Ball. She doesn't. If you read the lips during the end of the conversation, she can be seen telling the Houston Coach "that's the rule", which in this case relates to the fact they could not change the call on the first pitch of the at-bat after the second pitch had been released. The correct count is 1-1, even if it should have been 0-2.

MTD, Sr.
Responses in red next to your post.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Humorous 5-second rule application.... CMHCoachNRef Basketball 5 Sun Jan 24, 2010 02:57pm
Heated exchange Nevadaref Basketball 5 Sun Mar 12, 2006 06:14pm
Missed exchange MI Official Football 14 Fri Sep 24, 2004 01:54pm
Humorous tale from the weekend! Skahtboi Softball 6 Wed Sep 24, 2003 11:56pm
Humorous Non Sequitur rainmaker Basketball 2 Mon Aug 27, 2001 11:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1