The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2019, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Then again, I've always felt that an illegal pitch violation when a pitcher steps on the plate with her hands already together should be an immediate dead ball as well. Why wait for her to then separate her hands, look in for the signal, check her arm band, look back at her catcher, put her hands together, take a deep breath...
I've been taught to call the IP when you see it. In the case of the pitcher stepping onto the PP with hands together, I will call "Illegal Pitch!" as I stand up from my set position and move off to the side opposite the batter.

I cannot recall a time where the pitcher actually delivered a pitch.

So yes, it's still a DDB, but in the case you cited, very rarely might a pitch be thrown.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2019, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
It's no different than umpire interference on a catcher's throw. Let it play out, and see if the defense is still able to retire the runner. If they do, why take that out away from them?
I disagree. I have the philosophy that INT by game participants should be penalized when it happens, and INT by game officials should be allowed to play out.

If you have umpire INT, it's literally no player's fault, so let 'em play and see what happens.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2019, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
This is also a potential out in NCAA - 11.20.1 -- but it's a delayed dead ball.

I assume this means we let the pitcher throw one pitch, then give the defense the option of the batter is out; or the result of the play.

I know what some people on the board think about stupid NCAA rules, and I tend to disagree, but I'll be damned if this isn't a stupid NCAA rule IMO.
So what if the PU signals DDB and then the pitcher throws an IP which the batter hits into a double play?

Or maybe the pitcher just doesn't pitch the ball in the allotted time?

Seems keeping the ball live could open up a lot of different issues. Not exactly keen on them referring to it as "interference" as it isn't even close to it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disconcerting or not maroonx Basketball 25 Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:28am
Disconcerting The_Rookie Basketball 14 Wed Dec 28, 2011 06:06pm
Disconcerting Johnny Ringo Basketball 26 Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:25pm
Disconcerting lmeadski Basketball 12 Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:14am
Coach disconcerting pitcher question TwoDot Baseball 14 Fri May 27, 2005 12:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1