The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 375
best way to handle a check swing

Sit: runner in 1st, 3-0 count, the pitch is out of the zone and called a ball. the runner advances and the catcher asks if she swung. HOw do you handle this ? And if your base umpire judges a swing, do you bring the runner back from second?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 07:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3afan View Post
Unless you are 100% sure it was no-swing, then YES go to your partner. And if BU says YES she went, then YES bring her back w/ 3-1 count.
"Her" who? Batter or base runner?

The question refers to the base runner.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
A runner can advance on either a ball or a strike.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,319
If the only reason the runner advanced was because of the ball 4 that was reversed on the check swing appeal, then yes, you return the runner. Its called umpire jeopardy.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If the only reason the runner advanced was because of the ball 4 that was reversed on the check swing appeal, then yes, you return the runner. Its called umpire jeopardy.
And if the runner was stealing on the pitch, but the catcher didn't throw because of the ball 4 call?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
And if the runner was stealing on the pitch, but the catcher didn't throw because of the ball 4 call?
If the delay of call or reversal of an umpires call allowed the runner to advance or affected the play, then fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If the delay of call or reversal of an umpires call allowed the runner to advance or affected the play, then fix it.
What is your criteria, beyond the runner standing on a base until a coach says ball four, go?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,319
Didn't I just answer that question? If the umpire called ball 4 and it resulted in the catcher not throwing down or the runner simply advancing to 2nd on the apparent walk, fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If the only reason the runner advanced was because of the ball 4 that was reversed on the check swing appeal, then yes, you return the runner. Its called umpire jeopardy.
And if the catcher thought it was a swing, she should have followed through with the play.

You do not move the runner back.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,520
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Didn't I just answer that question? If the umpire called ball 4 and it resulted in the catcher not throwing down or the runner simply advancing to 2nd on the apparent walk, fix it.
If the catcher throws the runner out, are you going to negate the out and put the runner back?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2018, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If the catcher throws the runner out, are you going to negate the out and put the runner back?
If my ball 4 call resulted in the runner pulling up and getting tagged out, yes I would put them back at first.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 29, 2018, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Didn't I just answer that question? If the umpire called ball 4 and it resulted in the catcher not throwing down or the runner simply advancing to 2nd on the apparent walk, fix it.
Not really, about criteria.
Say runner off 1st, running, at the moment of the dead ball call.
Reaches 2nd, even if slowed up, how should we determine if a steal or umpire jeopardy?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 29, 2018, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
If my ball 4 call resulted in the runner pulling up and getting tagged out, yes I would put them back at first.
Ignoring any poor coaching suggestion, the runner was going regardless of the pitch call; putting herself in jeopardy.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 29, 2018, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,520
If there is a play in progress, the umpire shouldn't be going for help until it is over. After all, shouldn't the BU be moving with and watching the advancing runner and prepare for a possible play?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2018, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby View Post
Sit: runner in 1st, 3-0 count, the pitch is out of the zone and called a ball. the runner advances and the catcher asks if she swung. HOw do you handle this ? And if your base umpire judges a swing, do you bring the runner back from second?
How quickly do you call the pitch? There should be about one second between the ball hitting the glove and your call. If you delay sufficiently, the catcher should have already released the ball (or be most of the way through her throwing motion) to have any possibility of retiring a runner attempting to steal. In that case, there should be no doubt that if the catcher did not throw, it was because she was not going to throw whatever your call was.

Last edited by EricH; Wed Aug 01, 2018 at 10:24am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check Swing MNBlue Softball 5 Wed Jun 13, 2007 08:44pm
check swing just98 Softball 30 Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:47am
check swing?? zanzibar Baseball 10 Wed Oct 25, 2006 05:21pm
Check Swing - OBR gsf23 Baseball 4 Fri Sep 05, 2003 01:16pm
Check swing Del-Blue Softball 16 Tue Feb 11, 2003 08:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1