The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post

I don't think we can call a runner out for INT because we think she "wasn't in the right place".
Well, yes you can. That is why if a runner deviates from an established or obvious path and interferes with the throw, it is INT
Quote:

A runner takes a wide turn at first base on a ball that F1 overthrows. F4 retrieves the ball that bounced off the fence and the throw hits the runner on her way to second base. INT? Heck no.
Correct, unless the runner makes a move other than advancing toward the base

Quote:

A runner retreating to first base after a line drive is caught by F6 who then throws to F3 trying for a double play. Ball hits runner in the backside. INT? Heck no.
Again, correct unless the runner makes a move other than advancing toward the base
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Well, yes you can. That is why if a runner deviates from an established or obvious path and interferes with the throw, it is INT
I can agree with that. If/when there is a deviation, you might actually be able to ascertain "intent".

With no outs, B1 swings and misses at an uncaught third strike. F2 makes no attempt to tag the batter who begins walking to her dugout on the third base side of the field. F2 does not throw to F3 for an out at first base, and returns the ball to F1 who is in the circle.

As B1 passes the third base coach, he tells B1 to run to first, which she does - straight across the diamond making a straight line to first base.

F1 seeing the runner going to first base attempts to tag her, misses, and throws to F3. The runner is still heading straight to first base and the throw hits her on the helmet and bounds away.

Was the runner "not where she was supposed to be"? Are we ruling her out for being outside the running lane?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Are we ruling her out for being outside the running lane?
Actually, yes we are if she's in the last half of the way to first. By rule, she is required to be in the runner's lane.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricH View Post
Actually, yes we are if she's in the last half of the way to first. By rule, she is required to be in the runner's lane.
From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
From what I've learned here, a running lane violation is when a Batter-Runner interferes with a ball thrown from the area of home plate.
Running lane violation is for anytime the runner is running outside the lane and interferes with a play at first.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 03:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2018, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Nah, F6 trying to turn a double play and hits BR out of the running lane ain't gettin a call from me...
Well, it should if F3 is stretching for the ball and gets handcuffed by BR inside the baseline. Coach will fly out of the dugout otherwise, and with good reason.

Just do a search for "interference running lane 3" and you'll see interference by a BR on a throw from 3B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference with a thrown ball jmkupka Softball 2 Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:23am
interference on a thrown ball _Bruno_ Baseball 5 Tue Jun 19, 2007 01:07pm
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1