Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
First of all, situation 3 is dealing with a retired runner (i.e. not a runner).
|
That does not matter. The rule does not differentiate between a runner or a retired runner except to determine which runner ends up being called out. The rule states "the
runner is out...when the
runner interferes...." There is not a separate rule for retired runners. Only the EFFECT is different because you can't call a retired runner out.
Quote:
Secondly, the retired runner committed an act of interference.
|
The retired runner ran back to the dugout. This is splitting hairs that you earlier didn't like me doing.
Quote:
Thirdly, by inference, when the runner committed said act of interference, it did have a bearing on whether the runner had the right to be where she ended up. (Hint: She didn't.)
|
The runner did have a right to
be where she was; she just didn't have a right to
do what she did. It was her "act," not her location, that got her in trouble. If she had stood still where she was, I guarantee the result of the play would have been no interference.