![]() |
|
|
|||
The RULE states that the runner is called out for interfering with a thrown ball, NOT intentionally interfering.
|
|
|||
No argument but there is clarification in the rule supplement that includes the word intentionally.
|
|
|||
But is NOT interfering simply by running the bases normally - they eliminated that in baseball 160 years ago. Unless that runner did something really to misdirect that ball - play ball! That was the reasoning behind the non call on Reggie Jackson in the 78 Series. (Just as a bit of trivia, what call did that crew REALLY blow on that play? No hints)
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org |
|
|||
Quote:
You are working your 11th national and this is a question? Try reading the definition of interference, the word "act" is part of the definition. And, while you are at it, check the definition of obstruction and see if you can find the word or requirement of an "act" of obstruction.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Try being helpful instead of condescending.
I was asking because the removal of the wording about intentionality makes it difficult. I have a hard time coming up with a situation where an offensive player might unintentionally interfere with a thrown ball; thus, my reason for asking the question. The only situation I can think of is a runner who has been put out trying to get out of the way but ends up in the way as a result of his action. Quote:
Sorry it took me so long to respond. I was umpiring a men's fp tourn this weekend. Last edited by EricH; Mon Jul 23, 2018 at 10:19am. |
|
|||
Quote:
These are plays presented at the first National UIC Clinic after the rule change. In the first, there is no problem with the runner until he stands up into the throw. The fact the ball hit the runner in itself is nothing. The act of interference was the retired runner standing up into the path of the throw: SITUATION 5: R1 on 1B and B2 hits a ground ball to F5 who throws to F4 covering 2B. R1 on their way to B falls down and then stands up as F4 is throwing to 1B for a double play. The ball hits R1 in the back before B2 reaches 1B RULING: Interference is called on R1 and B2 is called out at 1B. Rule 8 Section 7J and P In the second play, in the second the runner proceeded toward the base as expected even after being put out. BTW, the point that the runner was sliding is irrelevant to the rule SITUATION 6: With no outs, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B and R3 on 1B, B4 hits a hard ground ball to F6 who flips he ball to F4 on 2B to force out R3. In an attempt to turn a double play, F4’s throw to 1B hits R3 who is sliding into 2B. RULING: This is not interference. B2 has a clean slide into 2B. Just because F4 makes an errant throw, the offensive team should not be punished. The ball remains live and the play continues. Rule 8 Section 7J3
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
This play has been a subject for debate in our area for a long time, and you just can’t get some umpires to understand the intent of the rules sometimes. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interference with a thrown ball | jmkupka | Softball | 2 | Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:23am |
interference on a thrown ball | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 19, 2007 01:07pm |
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder | Ernie Marshall | Baseball | 5 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am |