![]() |
|
|||
BR collides with F3 after catch
This happened in my game a couple weeks ago. NFHS rules in effect. Would like input on how you see this play.
Runner at 3rd, one out, fly ball to F3 who is in foul territory when she catches the ball reaching over the orange base. The ball is in the air long enough to allow the batter-runner to be close enough to F3 at the time of th catch to collide with F3 just after the catch, knocking F3 to the ground. The collision appeared to be incidental and not intentional. Though the runner at 3B would arguably not have attempted to advance, being very heads-up, she immediately broke for home from 3B when F3 was knocked over and easily scored. Had the collision not occured the ball is arguably just returned to the pitcher and no "play" would have occurred. But because of the collision, the runner had an opportunity to advance and F3 could not recover quickly enough to make a play on runner. Is this interference on the BR, and if so what NFHS rule would you apply? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner collides with on deck batter | Gmoore | Softball | 18 | Wed Apr 23, 2014 07:04pm |
fair/foul - then catch/no-catch | David Emerling | Baseball | 36 | Tue May 07, 2013 08:58am |
Ref Collides with Player who has the Ball | cshs81 | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 07:54am |
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm |