![]() |
|
|
|||
Runners return at time of INT.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Tru n Blue, I read the casebook play (thanks for pointing it out). In that play, the runner, R1, committed to try to score before the BR acted to prevent F3 from making a play on R1. Clearly, the BRs action adversely affected F3 in making that play. In my game, R1 was going nowhere when that catch was made by F3, i.e., no play was in the offing. So the collision did not hinder F3 from making a play on a runner in motion like the casebook example, rather, it allowed R1 to go in motion.
|
|
|||
Well, since it was a foul pop up, the runner from third wouldn't (shouldn't) have "been in motion". If anything, she probably retreated to the base in order to tag up.
I agree that on a routine pop up to an infielder, a runner is unlikely to try and tag up. However, once F3 was wiped out (accidentally, inadvertently, unintentionally), now the runner made the decision to risk advancing. So once the fielder went down, as a result of a retired (batter) runner INT, we have nothing? So in the case play I referenced, the ruling is: If, in the umpire's judgment, B2 hindered F3's play on R1, R1 is declared out. I can't see the defensive coach being quiet about this if the run is allowed to score given that his fielder was knocked over. And I don't know how you return the runner to third base if INT wasn't called. So how do you reconcile this?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
I was PU. Initially, I ruled the ball dead and sent R1 back to 3rd. My partner then approached me and said that that was not the correct call and convinced me to call interference by a retired runner, which meant that R1 was also out.
I agree with you that only because the runner chose to advance after the collision, was the collision interference. If the runner had stayed put, no interference. I didn't like having to make that call, but I think my partner was right, by the book. If I ever have another play like that, I'd be tempted to just say that the ball was dead at the time of the collision because it was necessary to check on the well-being of F3. Then, I could just put R1 back at 3B. I know that's stretching things a bit, but I think that interference by a retired BR, with an additional out is unnecessarily punitive, even if its the right call. |
|
|||
Irishmafia, could it be said that the collision altered the action of F3 in the immediate act of making a play on BR because F3 had not completed the play on BR (voluntary release of ball from glove) at the time of the collision. The catch had occurred but not the release from glove. That could justify killing the ball.
|
|
|||
Interference requires a play to be interfered with.
But, the knock down hindered the fielder's ability to make a play on R1 when R1 advanced or even if R1 did not advance. * Some interference instances have a delayed effect, not necessarily immediate. It looks like this is that type of case and so interference applies. The call should have been at the moment of collision, then judge whether the possible double play fits. Hard to call, hard to explain, but "big bucks". ![]() * Think pickoff or throw home to prevent the score.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Therein lies the conundrum. If the ball is dead due to the collision, there is no advancing runner on which to make a play. And if there is no play available, how can you meet the definition of INT?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Correct. I mistyped. I also may have misread the play as described, so there's that too. I didn't think this was INT by a retired runner on the first pass, since it sounds like the fielder was in the process of making an initial play on the ball (attempting to retire the BR on the popup) when the INT occurred.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Sat May 19, 2018 at 03:28pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner collides with on deck batter | Gmoore | Softball | 18 | Wed Apr 23, 2014 07:04pm |
fair/foul - then catch/no-catch | David Emerling | Baseball | 36 | Tue May 07, 2013 08:58am |
Ref Collides with Player who has the Ball | cshs81 | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 07:54am |
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm |