The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2018, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
USA Softball May Rule Clarifications

May's rule clarifications are here
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2018, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
May's rule clarifications are here
Could have an interesting discussion about mechanics in those videos.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2018, 03:34pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,217
USA Softball screwed up the website for its plays and clarifications, I see. They used to have links for a PDF with a detailed listing of plays, and one for clarifications, all by topic and date. So if someone wanted to find case plays involving the Infield Fly Rule, they could search all references for "Infield Fly" under the Case Plays index, and go to those references by month/year of their publishing.

Now, they removed those links, and rearranged the documents using dropdown menus. So if you want to find the case plays on "Infield Fly", you have to open each webpage and search for them.

I hope they just temporarily removed the links for those indexes because they needed to be updated with the newest set of case plays and clarifications. Otherwise, they've just made it a lot more inefficient and cumbersome to find what you're looking for.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 09, 2018, 03:51pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
Could have an interesting discussion about mechanics in those videos.
Yeah, in Video 3, I noticed right away that U1 was set up almost at the third to second base line extended, almost the way U3 would set up with a runner at first base. He should be further to his left toward F4, who is already playing close to first base. He would've made a long-distance call at first if the ball hadn't hit the BR in the arm.

As for Video 2, U3 did allow the BR to get ahead of him and he ended up trailing the BR into third.

Is that what you were referring to? Or is there something else you saw?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 07:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 572
vid 3 is another example of a play discussed in the past here, that I could never sell to my colleagues; that a runner's feet could both be in the running lane, yet part of her body (in this case the shoulder) could be extended out and be liable for interference ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 07:27am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
vid 3 is another example of a play discussed in the past here, that I could never sell to my colleagues; that a runner's feet could both be in the running lane, yet part of her body (in this case the shoulder) could be extended out and be liable for interference ...
It's treated differently under different rule sets. NCAA and NFHS only requires that the BR have both feet inside the runner's lane. USA, however, wants the BR's entire body to be in the lane. Just another one of those simple rules that folks want to over-complicate.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
It's treated differently under different rule sets. NCAA and NFHS only requires that the BR have both feet inside the runner's lane. USA, however, wants the BR's entire body to be in the lane. Just another one of those simple rules that folks want to over-complicate.
I think that USA is the only one with this interpretation. At least, it's the only one I'm aware of.

And, yes, the deletion of the index stinks! I believe that it was a fairly new addition to that webpage- this is the first year that I recall seeing it. It actually made it kind of easy to find things. Certainly more easy that reading through every single page from the past eleven years!

Last edited by BretMan; Thu May 10, 2018 at 12:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
It's treated differently under different rule sets. NCAA and NFHS only requires that the BR have both feet inside the runner's lane. USA, however, wants the BR's entire body to be in the lane. Just another one of those simple rules that folks want to over-complicate.
Actually, I believe USA is the one who has it right. The feet do not cause the INT, but body parts outside the lane
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,062
Looks like the indexes are back.

Download them to your computer and you'll have them in the event they go away again.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Yeah, in Video 3, I noticed right away that U1 was set up almost at the third to second base line extended, almost the way U3 would set up with a runner at first base. He should be further to his left toward F4, who is already playing close to first base. He would've made a long-distance call at first if the ball hadn't hit the BR in the arm.

As for Video 2, U3 did allow the BR to get ahead of him and he ended up trailing the BR into third.

Is that what you were referring to? Or is there something else you saw?
Yes. Those plus.

Video1: U3 probably moving as the play is developing.
Video2: Good job by U1 getting down the line but moving when the ball hits the fielder's glove. U3 is way behind. Death stare at the base when the ball gets away.
Video3: As you stated for U1. U1 is 45 feet away, or more, from the play at first base.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,142
In video 1 I can't tell from the angle if the runner got back to the bag before F5s leg hits her foot. But supposing her foot is in contact with the bag there. Is this still obstruction? I'm thinking no since the runner was able to do exactly what she wanted (hold the bag). [I'm ignoring for the purpose of discussion that she was dislodged from the bag by a fielder with the ball]
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 12, 2018, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
In video 1 I can't tell from the angle if the runner got back to the bag before F5s leg hits her foot. But supposing her foot is in contact with the bag there. Is this still obstruction? I'm thinking no since the runner was able to do exactly what she wanted (hold the bag). [I'm ignoring for the purpose of discussion that she was dislodged from the bag by a fielder with the ball]
Yes, it is
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA Softball August 2017 Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 1 Sat Aug 19, 2017 09:07am
2 Rule Clarifications rekent Basketball 5 Tue Feb 12, 2013 06:25pm
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 6 Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:59pm
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 2 Mon Mar 15, 2010 09:22am
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sun Jul 05, 2009 05:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1