The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
2 Rule Clarifications

I don't have my rule books with me, so I need help with 2 clarifications:

1) A foul is called on Team A. The officials erroneously award the ball to Team A for a throw-in, at what point can the mistake be corrected? A) before official hands A1 the ball, B) after A1 has the ball but before releasing it, C) before the ball is legally touched inbounds.
I said A because this is not one of the 5 CE situations, and must be found/corrected before the ball is made at the disposal of A1 for the throw-in.

2) B1 reaches through the boundary line and contacts A1 who is the thrower-in. Ruling?
I said intentional foul for contact with the thrower-in and that contact with the ball only is a T, and breaking the plane with no contact is DoG followed by T for subsequent acts.

Am I right on these? Like I said I don't have the book in front of me and am getting pushback on them (I am slightly unsure about 1, but feel confident about 2).

Last edited by rekent; Tue Feb 12, 2013 at 01:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,834
1) c

2) ip
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 01:44pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
I said A because this is not one of the 5 CE situations, and must be found/corrected before the ball is made at the disposal of A1 for the throw-in.
It is C. The error must be caught before the throw in ends.


Quote:
2) B1 reaches through the boundary line and contacts A1 who is the thrower-in. Ruling?
I said intentional foul for contact with the thrower-in and that contact with the ball only is a T, and breaking the plane with no contact is DoG followed by T for subsequent acts.
Intentional foul.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Well shoot, I was hoping to go 2 for 2. Thanks for the help.

Last edited by rekent; Tue Feb 12, 2013 at 01:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 03:51pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Well shoot, I was hoping to go 2 for 2. Thanks for the help.
You were almost right on the first one: you thought it had to be corrected before the throw-in starts, when in fact it must be corrected before the throw-in ends. Close!
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2013, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Well shoot, I was hoping to go 2 for 2. Thanks for the help.
The short way that I remember the ruling for play #2 is if you hit the person, it's personal (IP).

And yes, I know it doesn't apply in every situation but it works for this "bear of very little brain."
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 6 Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:59pm
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 2 Mon Mar 15, 2010 09:22am
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sun Jul 05, 2009 05:43pm
Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 1 Sun Apr 02, 2006 04:04pm
NCAA - RULE CLARIFICATIONS hoopsrefBC Basketball 1 Wed Nov 22, 2000 09:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1