The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2018, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 6
reversed call

Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter has an actual count of 1 ball-2 strikes but the plate ump had it reversed 2-1. Next pitch is a strike which would have retired the side but no one questioned it. Count now is 2-2 and the batter hits a line drive scoring 2 runs for the go ahead. Defensive coach calls time and appeals the count on that batter prior to the hit, both umps discuss it and call the batter out on strikes negating the hit and subsequent runs which eventually cost them the game. This was sent to me in a email by a fellow ump who was questioned by the coach who was on the losing side of that event.....

What is the proper correct way or mechanic to handle this type of situation?
My thought is the hit stands, runs score, and the appeal was made after the pitch so there is nothing to discuss.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2018, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
Bases loaded, 2 outs. Batter has an actual count of 1 ball-2 strikes but the plate ump had it reversed 2-1. Next pitch is a strike which would have retired the side but no one questioned it. Count now is 2-2 and the batter hits a line drive scoring 2 runs for the go ahead. Defensive coach calls time and appeals the count on that batter prior to the hit, both umps discuss it and call the batter out on strikes negating the hit and subsequent runs which eventually cost them the game. This was sent to me in a email by a fellow ump who was questioned by the coach who was on the losing side of that event.....

My thought is the hit stands, runs score, and the appeal was made after the pitch so there is nothing to discuss.....
A call can't be corrected after a pitch; but the question is whether the mistake was the pitch that should have been strike 3 or the pitch which was hit. Obviously, both were problems. I probably would apply the umpire jeopardy rule and proceed as if the PU had the count correct in the first place.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
What is the proper correct way or mechanic to handle this type of situation?.....
What you describe seems ok for procedure; regardless of the result.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2018, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,657
Similar situations have been discussed here before.

If I remember correctly, the consensus was the inning should have been over on the third strike that was missed, so nothing can happen after that.
Hits and runs that occurred are negated, the inning is over, switch sides.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2018, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,268
USA softball has a case play or clarification stating an incorrect count can be corrected up until a pitch is thrown to ANOTHER batter. So yes, the umpire can correct the count, call the batter out on strikes and negate any play as a result of that batter putting the ball into play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2018, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Maine
Posts: 150
Can you point me to the rule clarification? I believe what you say but would like to read it.
__________________
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2018, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,002
May 2012

When can Umpires Correct the Count

We as umpires, sometime in our umpire career, thought we had the count wrong or had the wrong count and passed it on to the players and coaches. When an umpire realizes the error, when and how can it be corrected? The answer is, an umpire can correct the count on a batter at any point during the batter’s time at bat and before a pitch to the next batter. Example:

PLAY: With 2 outs, R1 on 3B and a count of three balls and one strike on B4, the next pitch is a ball. The umpire calls ball but does not recognize it as ball four. The next pitch to the same batter is fouled off and the umpire gives the count as three balls and two strikes. In a) the offensive coach asks for time, approaches the plate umpire and says “their batter should be on 1B because the previous pitch was ball four.” In b) the umpire gives the count as three balls and two strikes and the next pitch is hit for a home run. Before a pitch to the next batter the defensive coach approaches the plate umpire and said the count was wrong and that player should have been walked.
Ruling: In a) once the umpires get together, discuss the situation and discover the count was wrong, B4 should be awarded 1B since B4 should have received a base on balls two pitches before. In b) once the umpires get together, discuss the situation and discovered the count was wrong, B4 should be placed on 1B because B4 should have been awarded a base on balls two pitches before.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LSU/ASU Interference Call Reversed UmpireErnie Softball 4 Mon May 18, 2015 02:15pm
Obstruction call reversed (SD@ARI) teebob21 Baseball 3 Mon May 11, 2015 02:57pm
Reversed call on catch just another ref Baseball 2 Mon Jul 16, 2012 08:09am
Twins v Nationals home run call reversed Dakota Baseball 11 Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:10am
Call reversed Jay R Baseball 10 Sat Jun 07, 2003 06:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1