The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 13, 2018, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Look at rule 2-25-1f by rule it doesn't matter what part of the batter's box the batter is in, if it hits them in the batter's box it is a foul ball. If it's a foul ball then we have no issue with them making contact with a fair ball....cause it is foul!!

f. touches the batter or the bat in the batter's hand(s) a second time while the
batter is within the batter's box;
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 13, 2018, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
Look at rule 2-25-1f by rule it doesn't matter what part of the batter's box the batter is in, if it hits them in the batter's box it is a foul ball. If it's a foul ball then we have no issue with them making contact with a fair ball....cause it is foul!!

f. touches the batter or the bat in the batter's hand(s) a second time while the
batter is within the batter's box;
That's if the ball comes back and hits them, not if they make contact with a fair batted ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 14, 2018, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
That rule says the batted ball contacts the batter, 8-2-7 states if the batter/runner makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first they are out. There is no exception for being in the batters box. USA rule states the same things.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 14, 2018, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Rule 7 also applies to a batter, once you have a fair batted ball 7 no longer applies rule 8 is for batter runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 14, 2018, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
That rule says the batted ball contacts the batter, 8-2-7 states if the batter/runner makes contact with a fair batted ball before reaching first they are out. There is no exception for being in the batters box. USA rule states the same things.
Yes, this...
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 16, 2018, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Again by definition if the batter is contacted with the ball in the batters box it is a foul ball. Then the batter did not contact a fair ball since it is a foul ball. The balls status is the first thing to consider and if the ball and batter collide in the batter's box we rule a foul ball. All action stops then and there is no need to go any farther.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 NFHS rule book and case book errors kycat1 Volleyball 1 Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:34am
NFHS Rule book error drofficial Basketball 33 Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:32am
NFHS 2009 - Rule / Book ukumpire Softball 14 Fri Apr 24, 2009 02:29pm
Does anybody have a NFHS Rule book buddha69 Softball 1 Mon Sep 27, 2004 08:05am
NFHS Rule Book whiskers_ump Softball 2 Wed Nov 14, 2001 09:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1