The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 06:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
ASA 7.4 A STRIKE IS CALLED BY THE UMPIRE.

C. For each legally pitched ball swung at and missed by the batter
Granted, the grammar is weak, but there is the rule which MAY justify Tap's call. It specifically states the batter must swing at the ball. To me, that means s/he must be attempting to hit the ball.

Try calling a strike when the batter lets the bat drop in front of them while the ball passes them and see what type of argument you lose there

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1