View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 06:06am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
ASA 7.4 A STRIKE IS CALLED BY THE UMPIRE.

C. For each legally pitched ball swung at and missed by the batter
Granted, the grammar is weak, but there is the rule which MAY justify Tap's call. It specifically states the batter must swing at the ball. To me, that means s/he must be attempting to hit the ball.

Try calling a strike when the batter lets the bat drop in front of them while the ball passes them and see what type of argument you lose there

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote