The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 12, 2018, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 166
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
NFHS 8-9-5 Courtesy Runner

Here is the Rule: 8-9-5
ART. 5 . . . The courtesy runner is not permitted to run as a courtesy runner for the Designated Player (DP), if the DP is only batting, and not playing defense, for the pitcher or the catcher.

Now here is a situation.
Bottom of the 3rd.
DP bats and gets a single. While on 1st Base the coach says they would like to Sub the Flex who was the pitcher(F1) in the top of the inning for the DP. The home team is now down to 9. With the pitcher(F1) now on 1st Base the coach would like to use a player eligible to be a Courtesy Runner as the CR for the Pitcher(F1).

Legal or Illegal?
Is the CR now running for the Pitcher(F1) or the DP.
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done

Last edited by agr8zebra; Mon Mar 12, 2018 at 11:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 01:11am
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra View Post
Here is the Rule: 8-9-5
ART. 5 . . . The courtesy runner is not permitted to run as a courtesy runner for the Designated Player (DP), if the DP is only batting, and not playing defense, for the pitcher or the catcher.

Now here is a situation.
Bottom of the 3rd.
DP bats and gets a single. While on 1st Base the coach says they would like to Sub the Flex who was the pitcher(F1) in the top of the inning for the DP. The home team is now down to 9. With the pitcher(F1) now on 1st Base the coach would like to use a player eligible to be a Courtesy Runner as the CR for the Pitcher(F1).

Legal or Illegal?
Is the CR now running for the Pitcher(F1) or the DP.
Illegal per 8-9-2
ART. 2 . . . ln the top of the first inning only, the pitcher and catcher are identified as those players listed on the lineup as the pitcher and catcher; both must face at least the first batter on defense (one pitch). Thereafter, the pitcher and catcher are identified as the last players who physically played that position on defense. The pitcher or catcher must bat and reach base legally (or earn their way on base) in order to be eligible for a courtesy runner.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
The rule is the same in all rule sets that allow courtesy runners. The pitcher and catcher must earn their own way on base in order to be eligible for a courtesy runner.

In rule sets that use a tie breaker, if the pitcher or catcher is the player to be placed on 2nd base they are considered to have earned their own way on base and can have a courtesy runner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 10:57am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
In rule sets that use a tie breaker, if the pitcher or catcher is the player to be placed on 2nd base they are considered to have earned their own way on base and can have a courtesy runner.
So the DP is the player who would be placed on second base to start a tie-breaker inning. While the defense is warming up, the offensive head coach informs the PU that she wants to substitute her Flex, who is F1, for the DP, and then use a courtesy runner for that Flex. Is that allowable?

If not, what if the head coach has the foresight to anticipate a tie-breaker inning after her DP strikes out to end the previous inning. Can she inform the PU of the change then? Or is that considered a projected substitution which some rule sets won't allow?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So the DP is the player who would be placed on second base to start a tie-breaker inning. While the defense is warming up, the offensive head coach informs the PU that she wants to substitute her Flex, who is F1, for the DP, and then use a courtesy runner for that Flex. Is that allowable?

If not, what if the head coach has the foresight to anticipate a tie-breaker inning after her DP strikes out to end the previous inning. Can she inform the PU of the change then? Or is that considered a projected substitution which some rule sets won't allow?
Player that last physically played the positions.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 12:26pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Player that last physically played the positions.
But in my scenario, the Flex was the pitcher of record. She just wasn't in the batting order when it was time to place a runner on second base. I'm wondering if she would have had to physically bat in place of the DP the previous inning so that she "earns" her way onto second to start the tie-breaker inning, and then a Courtesy Runner can be used.

Here's a different scenario. The last batter in the bottom of the seventh inning is F6 Sally, and she strikes out to end the inning. In the top of the eighth, the coach replaces Sally with Jenny, but puts Jenny at F1, and the previous F1 moves to F6. No doubt in my mind that Jenny can have a CR to be placed at second base in the bottom of the eighth because when she replaced Sally in the lineup, she took over that spot in the batting order.

I just don't know if that's the same situation when the Flex is F1, and she's announced to replace the DP who should be on second to start the tie-breaker inning, and THAT would allow for a CR.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So the DP is the player who would be placed on second base to start a tie-breaker inning. While the defense is warming up, the offensive head coach informs the PU that she wants to substitute her Flex, who is F1, for the DP, and then use a courtesy runner for that Flex. Is that allowable?

If not, what if the head coach has the foresight to anticipate a tie-breaker inning after her DP strikes out to end the previous inning. Can she inform the PU of the change then? Or is that considered a projected substitution which some rule sets won't allow?
  1. CR can be used for the last pitcher of record who earns her way on base.
  2. The player placed on 2B is considered to have earned her way on base for purposes of the CR rule.
  3. Substitutions are allowed during the half inning break, including entering a sub for the DP.
  4. If this was a tie breaker inning, and the DP would be the player placed on 2B, then now the substitute for the DP is placed on 2B.
  5. If Flex is entered for DP, Flex will be placed on 2B.
  6. If Flex is also the pitcher of record, and has by rule earned her way on base, then a CR can be used for her.

What is wrong with that train of thinking?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 13, 2018, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Player that last physically played the positions.
As said.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Courtesy Runner chapmaja Softball 11 Mon Apr 27, 2015 02:06pm
Courtesy Runner (NFHS) MOofficial Softball 4 Sat Sep 22, 2012 10:12am
Courtesy Runner (NFHS) 9redskin4 Baseball 6 Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:16pm
NFHS Courtesy Runner no1umpire Baseball 19 Mon Apr 18, 2005 10:57am
Courtesy runner again (NFHS) Duke Softball 6 Fri May 02, 2003 07:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1