![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Further research yielded this play from May 2017 Rules & Clarifications:
Play: R1 at 3B, R2 at 2B and one out. F1 throws the third strike but it gets away from F2. R1 scores as the throw from F2 to F1 goes into the infield. R2 tries to score and is thrown out at home. B4 initially watches the play at home and forgets to run. B4 is thrown out at 1B for the third out. Does R1’s run count? Ruling: No runs would score due to the batter-runner being called out prior to reaching 1B safely as the third out. Rule 5, Section 5B[1] This makes more sense to me and seems to be more in line with the stated rule. But there's a difference in the start to the scenarios. In the OP, there are 2 outs. In the recent example, there is only 1 out. Does it matter?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Yes, because in one case the out on the BR is the third out, and in the other case it is the fourth out.
This "fourth out" rule is a unique affectation for ASA / USA.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Wed Jan 31, 2018 at 02:46pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Case Play | xmj | Basketball | 7 | Tue May 20, 2014 04:34pm |
| Case book play question | ChickenOfNC | Football | 1 | Wed Sep 29, 2010 09:04am |
| Question concerning a case book play | chseagle | Basketball | 14 | Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:42pm |
| Need a case play. | varefump | Volleyball | 5 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:57am |
| Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am |