The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2018, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
I'm thinking that a mis-application could occur on an overthrow if the umpire claimed that it was only 1 base or the infamous "1 & 1" that we hear about on occasion.

If an umpire explained something like that, I'd say a rule was mis-applied. As such, it could be protestable.

But in the event of obstruction, if the umpire judges what bases get awarded, there are no hard and fast "rules" to apply here. That's not to say that an umpire's judgment couldn't be egregiously wrong, but it is still their judgment.

I'm open to other thoughts on this matter.
Suppose the umpired judged that in some play the BR would have gotten third because after the obstruction the ball went over the cutoffs head and rolled all the way to the backstop. This is a misapplication of the rule because the rule requires that the judgment be based on what has happened at the time of obstruction not subsequent playing action.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Case Play 1-57 IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:25am
Case Play 2.10.1.H vs 8.6.1 rwest Basketball 4 Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:45pm
Need a case play. varefump Volleyball 5 Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:57am
Case Play ejstuart Soccer 3 Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am
FED case play 8.1.1L David Emerling Baseball 5 Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1