The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 18, 2018, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
My question then and still not clearly answered is about umpire latitude. USA Rules.
The difference between one and two is whether B4 passed R1 before or after the umpire judged the injury needed immediate attention.

In the ruling one version of the play, can the umpire judge that B4 was only out at home because of avoiding R1 and therefore should be awarded home?

In the ruling two version of the play, do you agree it seems either home or 3rd could be judged for R1, 3rd or 2nd for B4.

IOW, does an umpire have that much latitude in awarding bases on OBS, without a protest upheld?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Case Play 1-57 IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:25am
Case Play 2.10.1.H vs 8.6.1 rwest Basketball 4 Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:45pm
Need a case play. varefump Volleyball 5 Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:57am
Case Play ejstuart Soccer 3 Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am
FED case play 8.1.1L David Emerling Baseball 5 Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1