![]() |
|
|
|||
I was thinking that awarding the wrong base could be misapplication.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I'm thinking that a mis-application could occur on an overthrow if the umpire claimed that it was only 1 base or the infamous "1 & 1" that we hear about on occasion.
If an umpire explained something like that, I'd say a rule was mis-applied. As such, it could be protestable. But in the event of obstruction, if the umpire judges what bases get awarded, there are no hard and fast "rules" to apply here. That's not to say that an umpire's judgment couldn't be egregiously wrong, but it is still their judgment. I'm open to other thoughts on this matter.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I understood you. What I was saying is that I also think there are times that an obstruction judgment could be protestable. If the umpire bases it on something that clearly happened after the obstruction (and admits it) that should be corrected on protest.
|
|
|||
I don't believe that properly could be corrected, even. While our interpretation and direction is to make the judgment at the time of the obstruction, the rule states it is umpire judgment (period).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Case Play 1-57 | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 7 | Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:25am |
Case Play 2.10.1.H vs 8.6.1 | rwest | Basketball | 4 | Thu Oct 09, 2008 07:45pm |
Need a case play. | varefump | Volleyball | 5 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:57am |
Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am |
FED case play 8.1.1L | David Emerling | Baseball | 5 | Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am |