The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,103
Rule historians... when did the orange base stop being foul ground?

Back in the day, the ASA rule (and also everyone else's rule that I know of) was that once the BR achieved 1B, the orange bag "disappeared" and became part of foul ground. All subsequent play at 1B was with the white bag only.

A number of years ago, this changed so that instead of the orange bag "disappearing", 1B became one big 15x30 bag.

In a tournament this past weekend, a coach made a big deal of having his F3 tag the runner who returned to 1B after overrunning and was standing on the orange bag. He had his F3 stand there holding the tag while I signaled safe a couple of times. He requested time, came out and stated that the runner was standing on the orange bag only. I agreed she was. He then stated that the orange bag is just foul ground and the runner needs to be on the white bag.

So, out of curiosity... how out of date WAS this guy???
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Wed Sep 06, 2017 at 11:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,163
At least 10 years by the oldest rule book I have. But, if Im not mistaken USSSA slow pitch does require the runner to use only the white base after they have returned. Dont do slow pitch, but seem to remember some question about it a while back on one of the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
2006.

In 2005, the runner had to return to the white base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 465
Can a runner set up on the back edge of the orange bag, in order to time her release from the bag (with the release of the pitch), and thus increase her initial momentum off the leading edge of the white bag?
Same question for tagging up on a fly ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,163
It becomes one big base after the batter runner reaches.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2017, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Can a runner set up on the back edge of the orange bag, in order to time her release from the bag (with the release of the pitch), and thus increase her initial momentum off the leading edge of the white bag?
Same question for tagging up on a fly ball.
See RKBs response
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orange Runner Base at first BSBAL18 Baseball 1 Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:02am
Orange Base orangebase Softball 61 Sun May 17, 2009 10:26am
A question for the historians BktBallRef Basketball 9 Thu Nov 08, 2007 05:32pm
Starting on the orange base Dakota Softball 12 Wed Sep 22, 2004 06:07pm
HR or Ground rule dbl?? Thane Yennie Baseball 2 Fri Apr 06, 2001 11:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1