The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2017, 10:28am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
The question then becomes about "opportunity to complete baserunning responsibilities" regarding the appeal. Does the opportunity remain until R1 leaves live ball territory?
By the rules that we have at our disposal (ignoring, for the moment, USA 10.1, NFHS 10-2-3g, and any other "god" rule available in the other books), the opportunity for R1 to correct the initial miss of the plate goes away the moment R2 reaches home during live ball play. What happens afterwards is irrelevant. If R1 touches home after R2 did, that is not recognized as a legal touch of home to remove the opportunity for the defense to appeal.

What we really need is an exception to the rules requiring obstructed runners to still touch all bases legally. For example, under NFHS 8-4-3b, you would have something like this:

Quote:
b. a fielder not in possession of the ball or not making an initial play on a batted ball, impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running bases. Obstructed runners are still required to touch all bases in proper order, or they could be called out on a proper appeal by the defensive team. EXCEPTION: A runner obstructed from touching home who normally cannot return to touch it under 8-3-9 because a subsequent runner has scored shall be allowed to touch it afterward, and will not be subject to an appeal. Should an act of interference occur following any obstruction, enforcement of the interference penalty would have precedence.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 02, 2017, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
What we really need is an exception to the rules requiring obstructed runners to still touch all bases legally. For example, under NFHS 8-4-3b, you would have something like this:
b. a fielder not in possession of the ball or not making an initial play on a batted ball, impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running bases. Obstructed runners are still required to touch all bases in proper order, or they could be called out on a proper appeal by the defensive team. EXCEPTION: A runner obstructed from touching home who normally cannot return to touch it under 8-3-9 because a subsequent runner has scored shall be allowed to touch it afterward, and will not be subject to an appeal. Should an act of interference occur following any obstruction, enforcement of the interference penalty would have precedence.
Why just home plate?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed-base appeal -- does first run count? bw22 Baseball 6 Fri Apr 16, 2010 01:52am
Missed Base/Appeal Lapopez Baseball 19 Sat Oct 31, 2009 03:32pm
Missed Base Appeal tibear Baseball 7 Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:45am
Missed base and appeal. Illini_Ref Baseball 10 Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1