The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2017, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
The throw from F8 to home is a frozen rope that may get R1, but the ball bounces in front of F2 and scoots by her as she puts her leg in R1's path. R1 tries to slide into the back side of the plate, but goes past home without touching it due to F2's leg. PU signals Obstruction as F1, backing up the throw home, fields the ball. She tosses it back to F2 to make a play on R2, but R2 slides into home under the tag just before R1 has a chance to recover and touch home herself.

You're the PU. If the defense appeals, are you really going to rule R1 out for failing to touch home before R2 scores, even though R1 was clearly obstructed from initially touching it?
If there had been no R2 and R1 was tagged before touching the plate, would you have awarded R1 home and the score?

If so, then you still do that in the above, with R2 also scoring.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2017, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Exactly. At the point they do make a play on the obstructed runner you award the obstruction which includes placing all runners where you think they should go, not just the obstructed runner.

In this case the play on the obstructed runner is an appeal play. R1 would have been out on appeal but since she was obstructed you award her home.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2017, 10:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
In this case the play on the obstructed runner is an appeal play. R1 would have been out on appeal but since she was obstructed you award her home.
Even an obstructed runner has to touch all bases. if she went past the plate, as she did, do i have to see if she was going back to touch the plate. it seems like there was a second or two between R1 going past the plate and the play being made on R2. What was R1 doing during that time. I'd want to give R1 some opportunity to finish her base running responsibilities, but if she missed the base and is not making an attempt to come back and touch the plate (assuming she is not injured), how do we call it if there is a live or dead ball appeal on R1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed-base appeal -- does first run count? bw22 Baseball 6 Fri Apr 16, 2010 01:52am
Missed Base/Appeal Lapopez Baseball 19 Sat Oct 31, 2009 03:32pm
Missed Base Appeal tibear Baseball 7 Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:45am
Missed base and appeal. Illini_Ref Baseball 10 Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1