The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2017, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Far South Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 5
BIZARRE Play - Abandonment?

Had a BIZARRE play happen in a game this weekend that made me wonder what is the correct ruling is if something similar to this play would happen again.


Situation;

R1 & R2, no outs. BR bunts the ball in the air in front of the plate F2 dives for the ball.

PU sees the ball wasn't caught and signals fair ball. F1 throws the ball to F6 at 3B, R2 is safe at 3B.

BR is safe at 1B, however coach thinks it is foul ball and sends BR back to the plate.

F6 throws to F1 who tags BR out between 1B & HP. Case closed no problem for us.


However;

Should've we called BR out when she started back to HP AFTER she was SAFE at 1B?
BR was legally safe at 1B. What if she got into a run-down between 1B & HP. Would she be out if she would retreat to HP?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2017, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Was she stepping back to avoid or attempting to delay a tag?

Did she abandon running the bases by entering dead ball territory?

Those would be the applicable rule citations.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 01:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Steve nailed it. As the OP is written, the ball was never returned to F1 in the circle (LBR) nor was it declared dead. No other rules concerning the BR seem to come into play here. When the ball is live, runners can go wherever they please, provided they are not involved in a tag situation (which invokes the basepath rule).

The ball is live and the BR (technically a runner now) is out on the tag. Retreating back to home is no longer INT. Since she already reached 1B, if she had been caught in a rundown, it would be ruled just like any runner in any other rundown headed to any other base.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Wed Jul 12, 2017 at 02:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Steve nailed it. As the OP is written, the ball was never returned to F1 in the circle (LBR) nor was it declared dead. No other rules concerning the BR seem to come into play here. When the ball is live, runners can go wherever they please, provided they are not involved in a tag situation (which invokes the basepath rule).

The ball is live and the BR (technically a runner now) is out on the tag. Retreating back to home is no longer INT. Since she already reached 1B, if she had been caught in a rundown, it would be ruled just like any runner in any other rundown headed to any other base.
I think that the crux of this question is the spot that you and Steve appear to disagree. Steve says: Was she stepping back to avoid or attempting to delay a tag? is an applicable rule. You say that rule doesn't apply because she reached first base. I think that is right. But you also say Steve nailed it. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Isn't the stepping back rule based on nowhere to go?
IOW, even in a rundown, the runner can't go back to HP.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I cannot help myself, I have to say something about this.

How can anyone even think of a rundown between home and first base?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
You say that rule doesn't apply because she reached first base. I think that is right. But you also say Steve nailed it.
I think that rule of stepping back would still apply between home and 1st. there is a rule somewhere in the book that if a runner reaches a base she is forced to and then steps back, the force is reinstated. I don't think she can get in a traditional rundown between home and 1st, even if she did already reach first. if the defense is trying to tag her and she steps back between 1st and home, my vote is that the runner is out for INT even in this situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abandonment (BRD example play) David Emerling Baseball 18 Wed Apr 02, 2014 02:31pm
Base Abandonment on the Final Play SMEngmann Baseball 42 Tue Jun 11, 2013 01:44pm
bizarre scenario, what to do here? bniu Softball 9 Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:15pm
Most bizarre one that I've ever had Nevadaref Basketball 11 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:01pm
Bizarre game - even for me! Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Mon Nov 25, 2002 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1