The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Steve nailed it. As the OP is written, the ball was never returned to F1 in the circle (LBR) nor was it declared dead. No other rules concerning the BR seem to come into play here. When the ball is live, runners can go wherever they please, provided they are not involved in a tag situation (which invokes the basepath rule).

The ball is live and the BR (technically a runner now) is out on the tag. Retreating back to home is no longer INT. Since she already reached 1B, if she had been caught in a rundown, it would be ruled just like any runner in any other rundown headed to any other base.
I think that the crux of this question is the spot that you and Steve appear to disagree. Steve says: Was she stepping back to avoid or attempting to delay a tag? is an applicable rule. You say that rule doesn't apply because she reached first base. I think that is right. But you also say Steve nailed it. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Isn't the stepping back rule based on nowhere to go?
IOW, even in a rundown, the runner can't go back to HP.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I cannot help myself, I have to say something about this.

How can anyone even think of a rundown between home and first base?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
One other thing asked in your thread title...

USA does not have the concept of "abandonment" without the runner actually entering DBT.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2017, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I cannot help myself, I have to say something about this.

How can anyone even think of a rundown between home and first base?
Because if you read the rule literally that's what it says. The BR has reached first base so she can now retreat toward home without committing interference. The only other spot (that I can think of) that mentions something changing when the BR reaches first is the look back rule. If the Batter hits a single walks down to first and then steps back toward home and just stands there and the pitcher gets in the circle, would you call a LBR violation. TWP I know, but it's illustrative. They don't have to be read the same way but it does make some sense.

That said, I agree it's a little ridiculous and it gets worse if you carry it to it's logical conclusion, so I'm fine with the idea of that rule applying. It just requires stretching the language.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2017, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Because if you read the rule literally that's what it says. The BR has reached first base so she can now retreat toward home without committing interference.
Actually, I was referring to the absurdity of there being a rundown between home and 1st.

Quote:
The only other spot (that I can think of) that mentions something changing when the BR reaches first is the look back rule. If the Batter hits a single walks down to first and then steps back toward home and just stands there and the pitcher gets in the circle, would you call a LBR violation.
Yep
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 14, 2017, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Actually, I was referring to the absurdity of there being a rundown between home and 1st.
Absurd does not mean impossible. See also: the "Oregon play".

If I was a coach needing a run, I might envision some shenanigans with R1 after she reaches 1B, up to and including retreating to home. If anyone has rule support for an out between HP and 1B on BR/R1 after reaching 1B, I'm all ears.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 15, 2017, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
If anyone has rule support for an out between HP and 1B on BR/R1 after reaching 1B, I'm all ears.
the USA/ASA rule 8.2.H says "when a batter runner steps back towards home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder."

There is nothing in here that says once she reaches 1st base this rule disappears. If she reaches 1st but steps back and is now between 1st and home and then tries to avoid a tag by stepping back (more) I think the rule still supports calling an out for batter-runner interference; she's stepping back towards home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder. She is out.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 15, 2017, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Because if you read the rule literally that's what it says.
I don't follow. which rule are you referring to?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 12, 2017, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
You say that rule doesn't apply because she reached first base. I think that is right. But you also say Steve nailed it.
I think that rule of stepping back would still apply between home and 1st. there is a rule somewhere in the book that if a runner reaches a base she is forced to and then steps back, the force is reinstated. I don't think she can get in a traditional rundown between home and 1st, even if she did already reach first. if the defense is trying to tag her and she steps back between 1st and home, my vote is that the runner is out for INT even in this situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abandonment (BRD example play) David Emerling Baseball 18 Wed Apr 02, 2014 02:31pm
Base Abandonment on the Final Play SMEngmann Baseball 42 Tue Jun 11, 2013 01:44pm
bizarre scenario, what to do here? bniu Softball 9 Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:15pm
Most bizarre one that I've ever had Nevadaref Basketball 11 Sun Dec 02, 2007 01:01pm
Bizarre game - even for me! Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Mon Nov 25, 2002 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1