The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 26, 2017, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
USA rules? Obstruction.

The ball was thrown from fair territory, and doesn't seem to be an errant throw. I wasn't there, but if I was, based on the original post, I am putting the BR on 1B.
F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 26, 2017, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
F3 clearly has possession of the ball before BR arrives.
D'oh! I missed that part and assumed incorrectly that the fielder was on the orange bag when the ball and runner arrived at roughly the same time. This is not obstruction.

The call is Safe, as the fielder has the onus on this play to use the white bag. However, since the BR, touched ONLY the white while a play was being made on her, the defense could have made an appeal for an out until the time that the BR returned to the orange base. 8.2.N
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 26, 2017, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
D'oh! I missed that part and assumed incorrectly that the fielder was on the orange bag when the ball and runner arrived at roughly the same time. This is not obstruction.

The call is Safe, as the fielder has the onus on this play to use the white bag. However, since the BR, touched ONLY the white while a play was being made on her, the defense could have made an appeal for an out until the time that the BR returned to the orange base. 8.2.N
The BR knocked F3 on her keister and then touched the orange bag.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Collision In A Run Down UnsureAboutCall Baseball 3 Fri May 12, 2017 09:21am
Collision or no collision? big poppa 7 Softball 15 Mon May 18, 2015 09:15am
Collision in the Key iref4him Basketball 10 Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:39pm
F2/R1 collision or is it obs? chas Softball 4 Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:08am
Collision at first SF Softball 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 07:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1