![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
And when the following conversation occurs:
Coach: Blue, that ball came off the bat and came to rest in fair territory. Umpire: Yes, coach, I'm afraid it did Coach: Yet, you called it a foul ball Umpire: Yes, coach, I'm afraid I did Coach: So this should be considered a fair batted ball, correct? Umpire: Well, yes Coach: So you know it is fair, but called foul? Umpire: I'm afraid I did Coach: Then I'm playing the game under protest
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Play!
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Once the ball is called foul, that bell should not be unrung.....
The problem with this play is....how do you "fix" it? You can't assume that the defense would have pounced on the ball and made an out and you can't assume that the BR would have made it safely to first. No pitch is not an option. It wasn't specified which rule set, but in NCAA, you CANNOT, by rule, change this to a fair ball. Here is a play I had as a UIC from a few years ago.... ASA (at the time) rules, 3 umpire crew, no runners on, less than two strikes on the batter. Pitch comes in, batter hits a ground ball to F5 playing in front of third base, ball rolls under F5's glove and goes foul prior to passing third base. PU rules foul ball. Offensive coach comes to PU and states that F5 touched the ball in fair territory and asks PU to check with his partners. PU gets crew together and U3 tells PU that the ball was touched in fair territory by F5. PU changes call to fair ball and placed the BR on first base. Defensive coach wants to protest, I am summoned to the field, get the story from the crew and talk to the defensive coach. I do not allow the protest since it was a reversal of a judgement call which is not subject to protest. Post game with crew was that PU should have told Offensive coach that he saw all he needed to and that the foul ball call stands.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Andy;1005296]Once the ball is called foul, that bell should not be unrung.....
The problem with this play is....how do you "fix" it? You can't assume that the defense would have pounced on the ball and made an out and you can't assume that the BR would have made it safely to first. No pitch is not an option. It wasn't specified which rule set, but in NCAA, you CANNOT, by rule, change this to a fair ball. Here is a play I had as a UIC from a few years ago.... ASA (at the time) rules, 3 umpire crew, no runners on, less than two strikes on the batter. Pitch comes in, batter hits a ground ball to F5 playing in front of third base, ball rolls under F5's glove and goes foul prior to passing third base. PU rules foul ball. Offensive coach comes to PU and states that F5 touched the ball in fair territory and asks PU to check with his partners. PU gets crew together and U3 tells PU that the ball was touched in fair territory by F5. PU changes call to fair ball and placed the BR on first base. Defensive coach wants to protest, I am summoned to the field, get the story from the crew and talk to the defensive coach. I do not allow the protest since it was a reversal of a judgement call which is not subject to protest. Post game with crew was that PU should have told Offensive coach that he saw all he needed to and that the foul ball call stands.[/QUOTE] Wrong - Wrong - and More Wrong...... |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=robbie;1005298]
Quote:
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Since we are telling stories of foul to fair
About 10 years ago, state tournament, there was a runner on 2nd and the batter hit a ball toward RCF. PU lost the ball for some reason and came up with a big "FOUL BALL". Well, Stevie Wonder was there and even he said, "That is some bad calling", somebody get the UIC. The UIC awarded the BR 1B, but kept R1 on 2B. Yes, it is a compromise, but the fairest option available. When the play was pushed up the chain to member of Nat Staff (without the applied resolution), his response was,"That's easy, place the batter on 1st and only push runners who are forced." That is why UICs get the big bucks!
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The OP's situation is a misapplication of the rule call (definition of foul ball). In the OP's situation, none of the facts are disputed. The ball was a fair ball than was inadvertently called foul, not a poorly judged foul. It was an incorrectly called foul ball.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Big difference. Are you willing to put up a $500 protest fee to have this decided? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What was his judgment? If a batter is trying to avoid getting hit and accidentally hits a batted ball into fair territory, it is a foul ball? That is a misapplication of a rule. Or, since the OP says "Of course, this is an oops..." that the PU's judgment was "oops"? He called foul apparently not because of an error in judgment, but because of an error in opening his mouth. Any protest would face an uphill climb, but this is not a discussion about "what you you do if you were on the protest committee?", but, what should the umpire do? I generally agree with the "eat the call" position; I was just pointing out that Andy's situation was different in that there really was an error in judgment in his situation.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Thu May 04, 2017 at 07:22am. |
|
|||
|
Once you call it a foul ball it must stay a foul ball. You will have to eat crow and hopefully not have to eject a coach. You may have to be apologetic and give the coach a little latitude. This is poor judgment and not protestable.
In the NCAA rule 11.5 Note it says: A batted ball declared foul cannot be changed to fair regardless of additional information that might be made available to the calling umpire. So if you change the call to fair you are now entering into a protestable call. Of course the protest should not happen because you and your partners have the ability to pull out the rulebook, and therefore will not overturn the foul call.
__________________
Colo Blue NCAA, NFHS, USSSA, ASA (No-More) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Fixed that issue.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, maybe it was a brain fart, but I believe it to be a misinterpretation and that is protestable
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, as stated in the rule book, that includes fair/foul calls. Life can be unfair at times. No pun intended. Last edited by MT 73; Wed May 03, 2017 at 10:21am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I've said around here if you ruled that you could clean it up, I've heard you'd lose that protest (though I don't know for sure). As noted, in other places, you'd better rule you can clean it up or you'll lost that protest. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Foul? Held ball? Maybe more...? You make the call. | JetMetFan | Basketball | 14 | Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:21am |
| Erroneous Infield Fly Call | whistleone | Softball | 5 | Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:10pm |
| no call or foul ball? | KathyCG | Softball | 31 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:59pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? | cmckenna | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am |