![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Live with the call.
|
|
|||
|
And when the following conversation occurs:
Coach: Blue, that ball came off the bat and came to rest in fair territory. Umpire: Yes, coach, I'm afraid it did Coach: Yet, you called it a foul ball Umpire: Yes, coach, I'm afraid I did Coach: So this should be considered a fair batted ball, correct? Umpire: Well, yes Coach: So you know it is fair, but called foul? Umpire: I'm afraid I did Coach: Then I'm playing the game under protest
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Play!
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Once the ball is called foul, that bell should not be unrung.....
The problem with this play is....how do you "fix" it? You can't assume that the defense would have pounced on the ball and made an out and you can't assume that the BR would have made it safely to first. No pitch is not an option. It wasn't specified which rule set, but in NCAA, you CANNOT, by rule, change this to a fair ball. Here is a play I had as a UIC from a few years ago.... ASA (at the time) rules, 3 umpire crew, no runners on, less than two strikes on the batter. Pitch comes in, batter hits a ground ball to F5 playing in front of third base, ball rolls under F5's glove and goes foul prior to passing third base. PU rules foul ball. Offensive coach comes to PU and states that F5 touched the ball in fair territory and asks PU to check with his partners. PU gets crew together and U3 tells PU that the ball was touched in fair territory by F5. PU changes call to fair ball and placed the BR on first base. Defensive coach wants to protest, I am summoned to the field, get the story from the crew and talk to the defensive coach. I do not allow the protest since it was a reversal of a judgement call which is not subject to protest. Post game with crew was that PU should have told Offensive coach that he saw all he needed to and that the foul ball call stands.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Andy;1005296]Once the ball is called foul, that bell should not be unrung.....
The problem with this play is....how do you "fix" it? You can't assume that the defense would have pounced on the ball and made an out and you can't assume that the BR would have made it safely to first. No pitch is not an option. It wasn't specified which rule set, but in NCAA, you CANNOT, by rule, change this to a fair ball. Here is a play I had as a UIC from a few years ago.... ASA (at the time) rules, 3 umpire crew, no runners on, less than two strikes on the batter. Pitch comes in, batter hits a ground ball to F5 playing in front of third base, ball rolls under F5's glove and goes foul prior to passing third base. PU rules foul ball. Offensive coach comes to PU and states that F5 touched the ball in fair territory and asks PU to check with his partners. PU gets crew together and U3 tells PU that the ball was touched in fair territory by F5. PU changes call to fair ball and placed the BR on first base. Defensive coach wants to protest, I am summoned to the field, get the story from the crew and talk to the defensive coach. I do not allow the protest since it was a reversal of a judgement call which is not subject to protest. Post game with crew was that PU should have told Offensive coach that he saw all he needed to and that the foul ball call stands.[/QUOTE] Wrong - Wrong - and More Wrong...... |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=robbie;1005298]
Quote:
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The OP's situation is a misapplication of the rule call (definition of foul ball). In the OP's situation, none of the facts are disputed. The ball was a fair ball than was inadvertently called foul, not a poorly judged foul. It was an incorrectly called foul ball.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Big difference. Are you willing to put up a $500 protest fee to have this decided? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What was his judgment? If a batter is trying to avoid getting hit and accidentally hits a batted ball into fair territory, it is a foul ball? That is a misapplication of a rule. Or, since the OP says "Of course, this is an oops..." that the PU's judgment was "oops"? He called foul apparently not because of an error in judgment, but because of an error in opening his mouth. Any protest would face an uphill climb, but this is not a discussion about "what you you do if you were on the protest committee?", but, what should the umpire do? I generally agree with the "eat the call" position; I was just pointing out that Andy's situation was different in that there really was an error in judgment in his situation.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Thu May 04, 2017 at 07:22am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Fixed that issue.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes, maybe it was a brain fart, but I believe it to be a misinterpretation and that is protestable
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, as stated in the rule book, that includes fair/foul calls. Life can be unfair at times. No pun intended. Last edited by MT 73; Wed May 03, 2017 at 10:21am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As I've said around here if you ruled that you could clean it up, I've heard you'd lose that protest (though I don't know for sure). As noted, in other places, you'd better rule you can clean it up or you'll lost that protest. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Umpire: It should have been. It was incorrectly called foul Coach: So you know it is fair, but called foul? Umpire: I'm sorry but a ball inadvertently called foul must remain foul Coach: Then I'm playing the game under protest Umpire: Sure let me grab the UIC. UIC: Protest denied. And the citation is always about the impossibility of unringing a bell. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Foul? Held ball? Maybe more...? You make the call. | JetMetFan | Basketball | 14 | Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:21am |
| Erroneous Infield Fly Call | whistleone | Softball | 5 | Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:10pm |
| no call or foul ball? | KathyCG | Softball | 31 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:59pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| Foul Ball Call - Does it make the ball dead ??? | cmckenna | Baseball | 2 | Tue Apr 30, 2002 08:53am |