The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2017, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Sure... retouch home plate (doesn't sound like the runner did that before returning to 3B), retouch 3B, then go home again, before runner from 2B is tagged.
Additional information:
If R1 returned to touch 3B and does not retouch home on the way, there is no longer an appeal to be made at 3B. There is an appeal available for missing home on the way back to 3rd, however.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2017, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Additional information:
If R1 returned to touch 3B and does not retouch home on the way, there is no longer an appeal to be made at 3B. There is an appeal available for missing home on the way back to 3rd, however.
But after the 3rd out, can R1 return to 3rd? I think whatever she does has to be completely done before that 3rd out (as jmkupka says above). After the 3rd out even if the runner retags home, runs back to 3rd and then goes back and steps on home it does not matter. There were already 3 outs and if a 4th out appeal is made it should still cancel the run. If no 4th out appeal is made, no matter what R1 does, I think the run scores.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2017, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Additional information:
If R1 returned to touch 3B and does not retouch home on the way, there is no longer an appeal to be made at 3B. There is an appeal available for missing home on the way back to 3rd, however.
I'm not sure this is right. If the runner retreats past home to retouch, she hasn't scored anymore, right? If she hasn't scored then she can longer be called out on appeal (it's not an advantageous 4th out).

But to me the question remains, how long can the runner unscore.

Suppose for example that there's one out and it's a ball to a very very deep rf. The runner thinking there are two outs breaks on contact and makes it home. Then the RF catches the ball. She can unscore by running back to third (touching home along the way) and if she gets there safely, she's staying on third.
Now same scenario but there are two outs and after scoring the coach thinking there's one out calls her back. She touches home either a) just before) or b) just after the catch.
Rulings?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 21, 2017, 06:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Now same scenario but there are two outs and after scoring the coach thinking there's one out calls her back. She touches home either a) just before) or b) just after the catch.
Rulings?
If there are 2 outs and the fly ball is caught in RF it doesn't matter what the 3B runner does. Even though she may have crossed the plate before the out, you can not score a run if the 3rd out is a force or a runner put out before reaching 1st.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the Run Score? tibear Baseball 7 Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:47am
Why did they even keep score? Mark Padgett Basketball 1 Mon Jan 05, 2009 01:41pm
Run Score? RonRef Baseball 14 Thu Aug 03, 2006 05:57pm
Run Score? #2 BktBallRef Baseball 3 Thu Aug 03, 2006 03:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1