The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 17, 2017, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
PLAY: F1 is an unreported substitute with B1 at bat with a 1-2 count. B1 hits the ball to F6, who throws to F3 to retire B1. The offensive coach wants to protest F1 for being unreported.

RULING: In this case the unreported substitute, F1 did not make a play. Since F1 did not make the play and it is brought to the attention of the umpire F1 is now in the game with no penalty. The pitch is considered in the case of an appeal meaning that was the appeal before or after a pitch. This is not an appeal it is a protest. The act of F1 making a pitch is not making a play. Rule 4, Section 6C8


Actually, I have a problem with this rule. Not the play or given ruling, but the rule in general.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
February ASA Rules Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 18 Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:34pm
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sun Jul 05, 2009 05:43pm
ASA Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Fri Jul 06, 2007 03:40pm
Some Clarifications PYRef Basketball 10 Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:18am
New Fed "Clarifications" mick Basketball 56 Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1